Merry Christmas!

It feels kind of odd to be wishing you a Merry Christmas in my first “real” blog post, but I would be remiss not to do so. So, Merry Christmas everybody! I hope all of you are enjoying this wonderful holiday and are spending it with your family, friends, and the other special people in your life.

For this week’s post, I put together a short list of some of my favorite Christmas songs. Since I have so many, I decided to narrow it down by limiting myself to only original songs. So, even though they’re some of my favorites, you won’t see House of Heroes’ “O Come, O Come Emmanuel” or August Burns Red’s “Carol of the Bells” on this list. Perhaps someday I’ll make a list with those songs, but for today, I wanted to share some Christmas music you may not have heard before.

Click the button below to read the list!

1. “His Favorite Christmas Story” by Capital Lights

Although I’ve been listening to this song for a long time, it’s become one of my favorites recently, and it is in fact the only Christmas song I’ve actually bought (I listen to most of my Christmas music on Spotify). Their catchy music style from This is an Outrage! translates well to this Christmas song, and that added with sweet story it tells makes it one of my favorites.

If you like the song, you can also check out this fan-made music video  for it.

2. “I Celebrate The Day” by Relient K

Relient K certainly has a way with words, and “I Celebrate The Day” is no exception. Like many other Christmas songs, it talks about the birth of Jesus, but it does so in a way that I think is unlike other holiday songs. Take the last stanza, for instance:

And I, I celebrate the day
That You were born to die
So I could one day pray for You to save my life

It puts things into perspective, doesn’t it? Christmas is the celebration of the birth of Jesus, who came to the earth so that, ultimately, He could die for us. It’s important to keep that in mind during this holiday season.

3. “Flurries” by August Burns Red

If you’re looking for a great instrumental Christmas album, look no further than August Burns Red’s Sleddin’ Hill. “Flurries” is one of my favorite instrumental tracks to date, partly due to just the amount of energy it contains. If you’re a fan of metalcore, or just like listening to awesome guitar music, this one is definitely worth a listen.

4. “My Family’s Crazy (At Christmas Time)” by Copperlily

On the other end of the musical spectrum is Copperlily, an acoustic musical duo made up of Tim and Stephanie Skipper. I’ll admit, this isn’t really my genre, but they sound beautiful singing together and their songs are always cheerful.

I’m sure we can all relate to spending the holidays with our family. We love them, of course, but sometimes they get under our skin. “My Family’s Crazy” takes a fun, lighthearted look at the craziness of spending Christmas with your relatives, and even though it’s a recent release, it’s quickly become one of my favorites.

(Also come on, that music video is just adorable, isn’t it?)

5. “Follow the Star” by Children 18:3

This is another one I’ve come across recently, thanks to RadioU’s Christmas channel. Although I’m not as familiar with Children 18:3 as I am with other artists on this list, these sibling rockers do not disappoint with their Christmas single. The chorus is probably my favorite part of the song – it’s a catchy one, and I think the lyrics are great as well. If you like a bit more rock with your Christmas, this song is worth checking out.


There you have it! Five Christmas songs you may or may not have heard before. Of course, there are dozens of other incredible original Christmas songs out there, but these were a few of my favorites, and I wanted to share them with you!

So now it’s your turn! What are some of your favorite Christmas songs? Do you have a favorite version of a classic, or an original that you love? Let me know in the comments!

I hope all of you have a wonderful Christmas, and I’ll see you next Friday!

3 thoughts on “Merry Christmas!

  1. For contemporary arrangements on traditional pieces, Mannheim Steamroller is hard to beat, particularly their first 3 albums. However, not unlike you and others, I have a tendency to think outside the (music) box in identifying seasonal tunes. Twenty years ago, I compiled three 90-minute cassettes tapes of Christmas music. No songs were repeated, with two exceptions — each side ended with a different version of “O Holy Night” and there were multiple arrangements of “Jingle Bells” arranged consecutively. In 1999 I added a fourth cassette. Apart from the traditional and contemporary tunes everyone would expect, I included some tracks not typically associated with the holiday but which still had a season feel. Some of these included —

    – Song for a Winter’s Night (Gordon Lightfoot)
    – California Dreaming (the Mamas & the Papas)
    – Peace of Mind (a/k/a Boston Does Christmas) (Boston)
    – Grace by Which I Stand (Keith Green)

    The 1999 volume included —
    – Where Do I Go from Here? (the Carpenters)
    – A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving (George Winston)
    – Montana Sky (White Heart)
    – My Deliverer (Rich Mullins & a Ragamuffin Band)

    Finally, here’s two tracks that don’t fit the traditional model but are still holiday favorites —
    – Story of Snoopy’s Christmas (the Royal Guardsmen)
    – Christmas Wrapping (the Waitresses)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

