Top Ten Music Videos (Part 2)

Last week on my blog, I wrote about some of my favorite music videos. In case you missed it, here’s a quick recap of the first half of the list:

“Darkest Part” – RED
“Touch This Light” – House of Heroes
“Love In Your Arms” – Eleventyseven
“I Can’t Stand To Fall” – Philmont
“New Horizons” – Flyleaf

This week, I’m continuing my list with five more of my favorite music videos. So without further ado, click below to read the list!

Dead Man
Artist – Wolves At The Gate
Album – Captors
Genre – metal/metalcore

Wolves At The Gate’s song “Dead Man” is a tale of redemption, as is its music video. To summarize, it tells the story of a young man as he prepares for his father’s funeral, and he discovers that his father was once a very violent man. He’s visibly shocked by this, as he only knows his father as a good and honest man. It’s then revealed that the father was led to Christ and baptized, and because of that, he changed his ways.

The reason I love this video is because it carries such a powerful message: no matter what we’ve done, God will still forgive us and can still use us. Although the song does a pretty good job on its own, the music video really drives the point home.

Also, if metal music isn’t your style, I encourage you to listen to the acoustic version of this song, which has a significantly lighter sound but still keeps the same great message.

War of Change
Artist – Thousand Foot Krutch
Album – The End Is Where We Begin
Genre – Rock (with some rap influences)tfk_war_of_change

Not only is this one of my favorite Thousand Foot Krutch (TFK) songs, but it’s also a great music video. “War of Change” is a black & white performance video that uses other special effects. However, unlike the “Touch This Light” video by House of Heroes, this video focuses more on lighter effects on a dark background rather than darker effects on a light background. Objects such as the lightbulbs, the white shirt/sweatshirt, and the snow-like powder seen throughout the video provide a stark contrast to the plain black background. Although this video doesn’t experiment with shadow as much as other B&W music videos, I do enjoy the way the effect is used here.

Her Father’s Song
Artist – FM Static
Album – Dear Diary
Genre – Pop punk (I guess?)

Dear Diary is a concept album, so with that in mind, it’s hard to explain the context of this song without going too in-depth, but I’ll try my best.

The main characters of Dear Diary are Aero, the narrator, and a girl who is only referred to as “E.T.” in the CD’s booklet. During the first half of the album, Aero moves to a new town and meets this girl, whom he quickly becomes friends with. Everything seems to be going well until tragedy strikes and both characters’ worlds are shaken, which we see “Her Father’s Song.” The event leads to a lot of reflection and thought about God and life, as expressed in the tracks that follow.

“Her Father’s Song” isn’t a traditional music video in that it doesn’t feature the band at all, but instead uses animations to illustrate the story that’s being told. The song itself does really well at expressing the emotions that surround tragedy, especially when it happens to someone close to you. Like with “Dead Man,” the song expresses this well, but the video is what really makes the point.

If you enjoy this song, I strongly encourage you to listen to the full album. It’s been one of my favorites for a long time, and I definitely think it’s worth trying.

We Owe This To Ourselves
Artist – Anberlin
Album – Dark Is the Way, Light Is a Place
Genre – Alternative rock

In the past couple of years, many bands have elected to do “live music videos,” which are essentially the same as performance videos, but instead of watching the band play in an empty room, the video is composed of shots filmed at one of their concerts. That’s what “We Owe This To Ourselves,” is, and I think it’s fantastic.

Although I’ve never seen Anberlin live (and never will, sadly), I do think the video for “We Owe This To Ourselves” captures the band perfectly. Perhaps I’m biased because this is the closest I will ever get to an Anberlin concert, but the band’s passion is evident in this video, and to see that they can put on a great show without fancy lighting or pyrotechnics really just shows how awesome they are. Anberlin Forever.

Rise
Artist – Skillet
Album – Rise
Genre – Rock

Alright, this one’s a bit of a stretch. Technically, “Rise” is classified as a lyric video, but with the background animations that clearly tell a story, I decided it deserved a spot on this list.

The narrative of “Rise” is fairly straightforward: a group of people (children specifically in the video) are fighting against the evil in the world, which is represented by the creatures in the video. What I like about this video is that it really grasps the main idea and theme of the song, and both work well hand-in-hand. It also expresses an important message of fighting for your beliefs, no matter how hard. That is more than enough reason for it to have a place on this list.


And that concludes my list of my top ten music videos! I really enjoyed getting to share some of my favorites with all of you, but now I want to know what you think! Do you have any favorite videos you want to share? Let me know in the comments!

I’ll see you all next week!

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Music Videos (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

