Valentine’s Day

Well, it’s the first time I’ve missed one of my blog posts. I’m so sorry, everyone! Last week was crazy, and sadly, blogging wasn’t at the top of the to-do list. But to make up for it, I’ve got a quick Valentine’s Day themed post for you today.

When you mention Valentine’s Day, you are usually met with one of two reactions: a look of pure disgust and a bitter grimace, or a bright smile and a cheerful demeanor. There is no in between. (Well, actually, there is, but for the purpose of the blog post, let’s pretend there isn’t).

I tend to fall into the latter category. I mean, Valentine’s Day is such a happy holiday! It celebrates love! Isn’t that great?

Except… there’s the people in the first category. The people who despise Valentine’s Day with every fiber of their being, and don’t mind telling you about it either. They’re the reason I try to stay off of social media on this holiday – I don’t like reading all of the negative posts about being “#foreveralone” when I’m simply trying to enjoy a happy holiday.

I know it can be hard to be single on Valentine’s Day. It seems like everyone else is celebrating a relationship except you. And yeah, it can make you feel pretty bad about yourself if all you’re seeing is sickeningly sweet Instagram posts from your friends.

But you want to know a secret? Valentine’s Day isn’t just about romantic love. Sure, that’s what most people focus on, but that’s not all of it. Love comes in other forms too, like the love between family and the love among friends. They’re just as important as any romantic relationship.

So, regardless of whether or not you have a “special someone” to share Valentine’s Day with, take some time to tell someone how much you appreciate them. It doesn’t have to be elaborate, just a simple “thanks for everything you do for me,” or “Thanks for being a great friend,” can make the difference to someone. Valentine’s Day is a day to show love and kindness to the people in your life, so get out there and do it!

(And, of course, don’t forget to do it the rest of the days of the year as well!)


I love all of you, dear readers. It means a lot to me that you come back every week to read my blog, so thank you. Happy Valentine’s Day!

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day

Leave a Reply

