Best Of February

Welcome to March, everyone! I hope you had an awesome February and enjoyed the extra day yesterday. I had a pretty great February myself, and I’m excited to share some of it with you! So, without further ado, here’s my Best of February!

My Blog

February was a pretty rough month for blogging. Things got busy with school, so I didn’t have as much time for blogging as I would have liked. However, I did still manage to write a few blog posts! In case you missed it, here’s what I wrote:

A Memoir
Valentine’s Day
Creating Stories With Meaning


Musiclife screams

February was a great month for music! I mentioned it briefly last month, but Lacey Sturm’s debut solo album, Life Screams, was released on February 12. It was something I’ve been looking forward to for quite a while now, and the album did not disappoint. If you’re a fan of old-school Flyleaf (mainly their self-titled album), or just like great music in general, I encourage you to check out the official audio stream on YouTube. My personal favorites are “I’m Not Laughing,” “Feels Like Forever,” and the title track, “Life Screams.”

Some other new releases include two singles by Thousand Foot Krutch, “Incomplete” and “Running With Giants,” both of which will be on their upcoming album, Oxygen: EXHALE. Relient K also released a new song as a Valentine’s Day gift to their fans, titled, “Look On Up.” I had the privilege of hearing it live at Uprise Festival last fall, but it was amazing to listen to the studio recording now. It’s a beautiful song, so be sure to give it a listen!

In some odd music news, Copperlily was on an episode of the HGTV show House Hunters this month. I’m not a huge fan of those kinds of shows, but it was pretty cool to see some of my favorite musicians on TV. The duo also released a new song at the same time, called “I Do Right Now.”

Finally, perhaps the biggest music news of the month (at least, in the music circles I subscribe to), Christian rock band Disciple announced they would be starting a crowdfunding campaign for a new album called Long Live the Rebels. They plan to release it by the end of 2016 with more details to come, and you can check out the full announcement at NewReleaseToday.com.


Books

I admit it, I’m not doing too well with my reading goal so far this year. On the bright side of things, I did finally finish Andrew Klavan’s Homelanders series, which is one thing I have been wanting to do every since I bought the full series collection last year. I’m sure I’ve mentioned it before, but if you like action-packed adventure books, this series is definitely worth your time.


Videos

I was going to consider grouping these with the articles and blog posts (see below), but I decided they deserved their own section. For those who don’t know, I subscribe to a number of YouTube channels (the list is endless, so I won’t bore you with it today). I picked out a few of my favorite videos from this past month for you to enjoy.

Until a few weeks ago, I’d never heard of Katie Gregoire, let alone watched any of her videos. That changed when one of her videos, “How to be a ‘Christian Instagram Girl,’” became relatively popular. I saw a few people share, thought the title was interesting, and decided to give it a try. It’s one of the funniest videos I’ve seen in a while! (Warning: Sarcasm imminent)

On the more thought-provoking end of the spectrum, Jordan Taylor released a video titled, “My First Phone,” which is one I really enjoyed. It’s one of my more recent favorites from him, and it brought quite a bit of nostalgia as well. If you have five minutes to spare, I encourage you to check it out.


Articles

It’s going to sound terrible when I say it, but I didn’t read as many articles this month as I did last month. I mostly blame myself for not paying closer attention. I did grab a few that I liked though.

On the geeky side of things, Kelly at Geeks Under Grace wrote a post titled, “When Shipping Goes Too Far.” If you’ve ever been involved in any sort of fandom (books, movies, TV shows, video games, and so on), it’s worth reading.

Another thing to check out is The Rebelution’s “27 Books Christian Teens Should Read (And Grownups Should Too).” You do have to sign up for their e-mail updates in order to read the entire list, but it’s free and not much of a hassle at all.


Video Games

Video game talk isn’t something that happens regularly around here, but I ask that you’ll indulge me, just for a few paragraphs. I’ll try my best not to sound like I’ve lost my mind.

pokemon games
Hey, look, my childhood. (Okay, I admit it, some of these belong to my brother).

In 1996, the original Pokemon games (Pokemon Red and Green) were released in Japan. Even though they didn’t come to America until two years later, 2016 is still being celebrated as the franchise’s 20 year anniversary worldwide. I started playing the games when I was about seven or eight years old (there’s a fun story behind that – perhaps I’ll share it someday) and despite the fact that it’s now ten years later, I still enjoy the games today.

On February 27 (20 years to the day), Pokemon announced two new games would be released in 2016, which I’m unbelievably excited about. I can’t wait to hear more about them!

Aside from that, I’ve been playing through the Ace Attorney series of games, which I’m really enjoying. I just finished the second one, “Justice For All,” so now it’s on to the next game!


My Life

I was so busy with school and other obligations that not a whole lot of exciting stuff happened this month. I did get one of those FitBit things and I really like it so far. I’ve been trying to be more active and take better care of myself (I type as I sit on the sofa, eating Cheez-Its and watching Netflix). Even though I haven’t gotten into a full routine yet, I have been a little better motivated.

In other news, my brother went to Canada on a school trip and brought me back a little flag, which I love. (I have a mild obsession with Canada. It’s a long story.) I got to be the “official” photographer for a Valentine’s Banquet at my church, which was also pretty cool. I did feel kinda weird about it, since I was the youngest person there, but I did enjoy the experience (and there were chocolate covered strawberries).

2016-02-29  002 Canadian Flag

Other than that, there wasn’t a whole lot going on with me personally this past month, which wraps things up for this blog post! Now I want to hear about you – Did you do anything exciting in February? Share in the comments!

I’ll see you on Friday!

Save

2 thoughts on “Best Of February

Leave a Reply

