What I’ve Been Up To

I admit it – originally, I was going to blog about something else this week. But when Thursday night came around and I realized my original idea was taking me nowhere, I decided to switch gears.

These last few weeks, I’ve had a lot of stuff going on and a lot of things on my mind, and since this is my blog and all, I guess I want to use it as a way to get those thoughts out there. I’m sure that this post will probably be a mess in terms of organization, but I hope that its content will make up for the lack of neatness.

I’ll start with last week. As you probably noticed (especially if you’re a subscriber), I missed another blog post last Friday. I don’t have any excuses – I just didn’t really feel like blogging. Both of my classes had writing assignments due that weekend, and by the time Friday came around, I didn’t have any words left in me. I decided I was going to give myself a pass and not feel guilty about it, since I needed some time to recharge anyway.

Last Thursday (3/10), I treated myself to a Chick-Fil-A milkshake (I had a gift card) as motivation to 1) get me out of the house and 2) get my history essay done. It wasn’t a very long essay, but I was dreading writing it more than anything, so it helped to get some fresh air as motivation.

I finished the essay faster than I was expecting, so I decided to visit my mom at the retirement home where she works. While I was there, I got to meet some of the residents and play Wii Bowling with them, which was a lot more fun than I was expecting! Even though I only got to stay for a little while, I enjoyed getting to spend time with my mom and hang out with the residents too. It was definitely one of the highlights of my week.

That Friday night, my church held a movie night for the film War Room, which was also pretty fun. It was another chance I got to spend time with my mom and grandma, which I am really thankful for. I ended up staying afterwards to help with cleanup, which I didn’t mind at all – I was one of the only teens there, so I helped put tables back where they belonged and ran things downstairs to the kitchen. It was nice to be able to help out, even though it was a small way.

Those were really the two big things that have happened in the last few weeks. We celebrated my grandpa’s birthday on Sunday with a nice dinner and cheesecake, which was also really exciting. Other than that though, most of my time has been consumed by school assignments. Aside from big projects (my journalism class is totally killing me right now), I also had to get a few things ready for graduation. Even though it isn’t until June, it’s coming up quickly. I turned in my senior photo, a PowerPoint slide for the ceremony, and also had to reserve my tickets for the ceremony. It’s been a pretty busy week, but now things are finally starting to wind down.

So what’s next? I get a week off from school for Spring Break, but I already have quite a few projects planned. I know my school-provided laptop is on its way out (the battery doesn’t work and one of my keyboard keys is missing), and since I’ll be returning it after graduation anyway, I’m going to start backing up all my files again. It never hurts to have a backup, after all!

Other than that, I have an article to work on for my journalism class, and some things to prepare for my school writing club, but for the most part, I’m hoping to relax over break. I want to take some time to do the things I enjoy doing, like hanging out with friends, watching White Collar, playing games, and writing for fun. With school and everything else that’s been going on, I haven’t had as much time for that sort of thing. But hopefully, I’ll be able to recharge over the break and get write back into things when it’s all over!

Anyway, that’s what I’ve been up to lately. Have you been doing anything exciting in your life, or do you have any fun plans for the next few weeks? Let me know in the comments!

Have a great weekend, everyone! I’ll see you next Friday!

6 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Up To

  1. Cheesecake and milkshakes! Yum! It sounds like you’ve been quite busy. Wishing you all the best in productivity. I’ve had a crazy March and I’m planning on having some friends over for a weekend for my birthday in to two weeks. I’m going to be 23. What the heck? O_O Thanks for visiting Stori Tori’s Blog!

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I’m looking forward to getting things done this week.

      Happy early birthday! Sounds like you have some fun things planned, so I wish you all the best! And your blog is awesome, by the way. It’s always fun to chat with other bloggers! Thanks for visiting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

