Best Of March

I knew this blog post had to be written, but instead I sat and played The Oregon Trail on the Internet Archive. Because my priorities are definitely in order. (Also, in case you’re wondering: I did not make it to Oregon. Because again, poor planning.)

Anyway, my weird gaming habits aside, happy April, everyone! I hope your March was awesomeΒ  – I know mine was! So without further ado, let’s get right to it: Here’s my best of March!

Maggie’s Musings

Like February, March was also a pretty rough month for blogging. But I’m really happy with what I put out, so if you missed any of it, check it out below!

Childhood Books (March 4)
What I’ve Been Up To (March 18)
If I Had a Million Dollars (March 26)


MusicGloryManafest

Honestly, looking back through the month, I can’t remember much news in the music world. I’m sure there was some, but nothing that really stuck out to me. I can tell you what I’ve been listening to lately though! About a week or so ago, I got really interested in rap/hip-hop/rock music, mostly because I remembered I had a bunch of Manafest albums stored on my computer. It’s a different style than what I normally listen to, but I love it all the same.


Videos

March had a lot of good videos, so I’m just going to narrow it down to my favorites. Jordan Taylor released “Don’t lose your imagination,” another really amazing and thought-provoking video. It’s a little hard to explain in just a few words, but it’s only two minutes long, so I encourage you to watch it for yourself.

I don’t usually talk about them, but Studio C put out a “sequel” to their popular video, “Top Soccer Shootout Ever With Scott Sterling.” If you haven’t seen that one, please go watch it now. It’s amazing. Anyway, the new video is also pretty funny, and is titled, “Best Volleyball Blocks Ever with Scott Sterling.”

Finally, another YouTuber I don’t talk about much is Ryan Matlock, a.k.a. The EntrePUNeur. On Fridays, he releases videos about weird holidays, and I really liked his video for March 4. You can watch that here.


Articles & Blogs

Like with the videos, it was hard to narrow down to my favorite articles and blog posts from March. Emily at This Incandescent Life posted two articles that I really enjoyed: “4 Reasons to Be Intentional With Your Free Time,” and “5 Things to Do While You’re Still Single.”

Focusing more on writing, there were two blog posts I found particularly enjoyable/helpful. The first was “So Your Character Is From Canada…” from Stori Tori’s blog. As someone who’s only left the United States once but has a weird affinity for writing Canadian characters, this one was super helpful. The other article was “A Recipe to a Very Happy Writer,” from Dimensions of My Universe, which was a fun read.

There weren’t a lot of nerdy/geeky articles that stuck out to me this month, but I did just start following Constant Collectible, so if you’re into comics, movies, gaming, or anything else geeky, they’re definitely worth checking out!

Oh, and one last thing: If you haven’t seen it already, my friend at Blossoming of a Bookworm created her own list for the “If I Had a Million Dollars” tag, and it’s totally awesome! She has some pretty cool ideas there, so I encourage you to take a minute and read through her post.


2016-03-06  001 MRS Selfie Cap Shirt
#TeamCap

Movies

This one will be short, I promise. I’m not much of a moviegoer in the first place, so I don’t talk about them much, but if there’s anything that will get me to a theater, it’s a Marvel film. Captain America: Civil War comes out in just a little over a month now, and I am beyond hyped. If your not a fan of the franchise, you might not be as excited, but I had to at least give it a little shout out this week because of the new trailer that was released in March.


My Life

I had a pretty busy month! I had a couple of college visits at the beginning, just to take one last look before I make my final decision. I still haven’t but the list is getting narrower, I can tell you that much.

I’ve also been busy with school – my Journalism class is totally killing me right now, but luckily, it’s over at the end of this week. Next quarter I’m taking Personal Finance and Forensic Science, so that should be better at least. I also had a few things to prepare for my graduation in June, so that was another thing I was working on. But now all of that’s out of the way, so I can breathe a little easier now.

Over Spring Break, I took a few days to relax and recharge (which mostly involved working on writing projects and watching White Collar). On Wednesday, I traveled with my dad to meet with some friends who were visiting the area, which was a lot of fun. On Thursday, I visited my mom at work again and got to help her with an ice cream social for the residents at the retirement home. It’s always fun being able to talk to the people there.

For Easter, I spent the day with my family at my grandparents’ house. We had lunch and dinner there, but I think my favorite part of the afternoon was working on a puzzle with my Grandma. It’s something that we both enjoy doing, and puzzles always go easier when you have someone to work with. It was so satisfying when we finally finished it!

2016-03-27  001 Cereal Box Puzzle
The finished puzzle.

Oh, and I almost forgot to mention: For the the month of April, I’m participating in a photo-a-day challenge! If you want to keep up with me while I do it, you can follow my photo accounts on Instagram and Facebook.

 

…And that’s about all that happened to me this month! Now it’s your turn: What were your favorite moments from March? I’d love to hear about them in the comments!

Have a great weekend, everyone!

 

7 thoughts on “Best Of March

  1. Ah! I love your Cap shirt! So awesome. I can’t wait for the movie. Go team Cap!
    I also loved Jordan Taylor’s “Don’t Lose Your Imagination” video, so it made me smile to see that you liked it, too. πŸ™‚ Great post!

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Hannah! I love my Cap shirt (I’m actually wearing it right now, oddly enough). I’m practically counting down the days until the release now, I’m so excited.
      It’s nice to see someone else watches Jordan Taylor too! I really enjoy what he’s been putting out lately, with “My First Phone” and now this “Don’t Lose Your Imagination” video. He’s done such a great job with them and they’ve become some of my favorites.

      Like

  2. Thanks a lot. Now you’ve got me playing the Oregon Trail too. Fun fact: i’d never played before, but I made it to Oregon on the 2nd try!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

