April Photo Challenge

As I mentioned in last week’s post, I’m participating in a photo-a-day challenge in the month of April! I won’t be talking about it all month, but since I just finished the first week, I wanted to share some of my photos with you.

Each day has a certain theme or topic to stick do, but aside from that, you’re free to take a picture of whatever you want! I’m having a lot of fun with it so far. Anyway, without further ado, here are my photos from the first week!

Day 1 – Yellow

I immediately knew what I was going to use as a subject for this picture. This yellow vase in our kitchen always seems to make the room a little brighter!

2016-04-01  001 Yellow Vase.JPG

Day 2 – Looking Down

Originally, I wasn’t sure what to do about this one. It was dreary weather outside, so I couldn’t really do anything with that, so instead I focused on the pattern of the floor in our house.

2016-04-04  004 Floor.JPG

Day 3 – Starts With “A”

An apple. So original, am I right? Even though my subject was a little less than creative on this one, I tried some different things with lighting and perspective, and I like the way it turned out!

2016-04-04  010 Apple

Day 4 – Cool

I admit it, I’m not really sure what I was thinking about this one. But I did think that the way my desk lamp shone through my water cup was pretty cool, so in my book, that counts.

 

2016-04-04  012 Water Cup (2)

Day 5 – Thank You

I’m a bit of a sentimentalist, so I keep almost every card or letter I’ve ever received. A few of my favorites (including many “thank you” notes) have made it onto this note-holder-thing.

2016-04-05  002 Cards

Day 6 – A Building

When I first saw this one, I thought I would go for a walk down the street in my neighborhood and take some photos of whatever buildings caught my eye, but as it turned out, I didn’t have time. Later that day, when we were at church, I snapped this photo of our building, and I’m actually really happy with how it turned out!

2016-04-06  002 BBC wm

Day 7 – I Sat Here

After having a hectic few weeks at school, I finally had some time to relax. Yesterday afternoon, I set aside a little bit of time for movie-watching (Thor, if you’re wondering), and I really enjoyed it. It was nice, not having to worry about anything for a few hours!

2016-04-07  001   I Sat Here

Day 8 – Pair

I don’t know what it is, but there’s something about the old beat-up sneakers aesthetic that really intrigues me. So naturally, I had to use a pair of Converse as the subject for this theme.

2016-04-08  001 Sneakers Steps


 

And that’s what I’ve done so far for the photo challenge! If you want to keep up with me, you can follow Canon Fire Photos on Facebook or Instagram, which I’m updating daily with my photos.

I think one of the coolest things about this challenge is that it’s making me appreciate things in a new way. Sure, I walk on that tile floor all the time, but I never really noticed the pattern until the other day. Or that picture of my view from my bed – sure, it might not be the most creative photo, but I think it captures a lot about me in just a glimpse of the wall across from my bed.

Normally at the end of my blog posts, I try to say something that encourages conversation, but to wrap this one up, I think I’ll just say this: take some time to appreciate the “normal” today. You might notice something you haven’t seen before.

See you next week!

 

7 thoughts on “April Photo Challenge

    • Thanks Hannah! It’s encouraging to hear that someone else likes them haha. I think the Converse one was one of my favorites too – I don’t know what it is, but I just love those shoes.

      Like

  1. Your pictures look great! I never take any photos, so it’s super cool that you’re doing a challenge type thing this month. The one with the Converse is my favorite – it turned out super pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Olivia! I’m excited about the challenge since it motivates me to get out and take pictures. The Converse one is one of my favorites as well, along with a few others.

      Like

  2. Neat pictures! I like the sneakers and the apple the best! Thanks for following me on Pinterest!

    ~Victoria Grace Howell @ storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

