Best of April

Hey everyone! Apologies for the somewhat late post – May snuck up on me faster than I thought.

I had a pretty good month of April, and I’m hoping you did too. Sure, it had its highs and lows, but all things considered, it wasn’t as busy as others. Anyway, you probably already know the drill for these posts, so without further ado, here is my Best of April!

My Blog

In case you missed them, I had three blog posts this past month. Even though I missed a week, I’m actually really proud of what I put out this month. I enjoyed writing all of these pieces, especially the Book Blurb one, and it was fun to hear what you thought of them too!

April Photo Challenge – more on that later (April 8)

Book Blurb Blacklist (April 22)

What I Love About YA (April 29)

Music

I’m sure you all know by now that I love to talk about music. I may not be able to play an instrument or carry a tune, but I love talking about music. In comparison to March, where there was nearly no music news, April is a totally different story.

Air for Free
The cover for Relient K’s upcoming album, Air For Free

Following up from their brief (and vague) announcement way back in December, House of Heroes shared more information about their long-anticipated album, COLORS, this month. The album is due to be released in June, and preorders are now available on the band’s website (http://thehouseofheroes.com/). They also released the album’s first single, titled “Colors Run

Another Ohio-based group, Relient K, also released some new music. The band announced that their upcoming album, Air For Free, would be released on July 22. The album’s first single, “Bummin’” was also released, and you can preorder the album on their website (http://www.relientk.com/).

Rounding out the big music news for April is Disciple’s announcement that they will soon begin recording Long Live the Rebels, due for release in late 2016. Thousand Foot Krutch has also put out some new music ahead of the June 17 release of Oxygen: EXHALE – their single “Running With Giants” has new music video, and it’s awesome. Be sure to check it out and preorder the album on iTunes!

Other Stuff

Yeah, this is a short blog post (more on that in a minute). I don’t have a lot of articles or videos to share, but I did want to mention this one little thing.

As some people may know, I’ve started listening to RadioU in the last few months, and I particularly love their morning show, The RIOT. A few weeks ago they did a special show with throwbacks to their favorite show moments, and while all of them were awesome, this one took the cake. It was my first time hearing this clip, and I laughed the whole way through. So if you’re interested, here it is: Obadiah’s Flaming Lawn Mower.

Personal

Like I said before, April was a month of ups and downs. Although I didn’t really feel as stressed as I have the last few months, I still found myself with a lot of responsibilities. The school year is starting to wind down, which means I have to be taking care of some end-of-year stuff and making sure everything is wrapped up and ready when I finally graduate in June. As you may have gathered from my post, I haven’t been paying as much attention to articles or videos, mostly because of this. However, that doesn’t mean April didn’t have its bright spots too.

I’ll start with this: I failed my April Photo Challenge miserably. I tried, I really did. But when responsibilities started stacking up, I had to make a choice on what to spend my time on, and photography, sadly, didn’t make it to the top of the list. On the bright side, I did make it through about 14 days, and you can see all of that on my photography Facebook page. Perhaps I’ll try another challenge like this sometime, since I really did enjoy it while it lasted.

April 2016 Challenge
The photos I took for my April Photo Challenge. I didn’t finish, but I had fun anyway!

I’ve also finally gotten back into reading more often, which is something I’ve been missing. I’ve picked up a book here and there, but it hasn’t been something I’ve been doing as regularly as I used to. Since one of my goals for 2016 was to read 40 books, I’m happy with this progress. This month, I read Skies of Dripping Gold by Hannah Heath, and wrote a short review for it on Goodreads. I also read Countdown by Deborah Wiles, a historical fiction novel that takes place in the early 1960s, and Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson, a postapocalyptic story with a sort of superpower twist. I really enjoyed all of these books, and I encourage you to check them out!

My biggest news from April is something many of you may know already, but I have officially decided to attend Messiah College starting this fall! I’ll be an English major, which means I’ll be doing a lot of what I love already – reading and writing! I’m looking forward to going to school there and getting to meet new people from all over. Right now, things are kind of in the middle – I don’t sign up for classes or learn my housing assignment until mid-summer, but even so, I’m excited!

Messiah Logo

Looking ahead, I’m thinking May will probably be busy too, but in a good way. I’ll be celebrating my birthday with my family on the fifth, and (hopefully) be seeing Captain America: Civil War with my brother the next day. Then after that, my family is going on a trip, which I’m sure I’ll blog about afterwards. From there, I’ll be getting ready for graduation! So yes, it’s busy, but there are plenty of things to look forward to.


As I wrap this blog post up, I had one last thing to say. There has been a lot going on around me, and so these last few days have been sorta rough. I admit that I didn’t have a whole lot of motivation to write this blog post until I couldn’t sleep last night. Now that I’ve written this though, I’m glad I took some time to remember the good things that happened this month and look ahead at the good things to come.

I guess I say that as sort of a thank you to my readers out there. I love writing for this blog, as it’s given me a place to voice my thoughts. The (usually) regular posting schedule keeps me accountable even when I don’t always feel like blogging. And of course, I’m always excited to see a new comment – you guys are always so encouraging to me!

Anyway, I’d love to hear about your favorite moments from April, so feel free to share below!

See you on Friday!

 

Leave a Reply

