Beautiful People #17 – May 2016

First of all, sorry for the sort of late blog post. I mentioned it briefly, but I’m actually away on vacation with family right now and totally forgot to set up a blog post to go out this week.

Anyway, I’m doing something a little different today! A few months ago, I found this writing challenge called Beautiful People, which I’ve been wanting to try ever since. Basically, every month, a set of questions goes out and writers answer them for one of their characters.

When the questions for May finally came out, I was super excited to try, and I wanted to share my results with all of you in a blog post. I chose to use my character Riley Taylor, one of the protagonists of my novella, Summertime. Perhaps another time I’ll introduce you to Leslie Summers, the other protagonist, but for now, click below to read on!

1) How often do they smile? Would they smile at a stranger?

“Smile” probably isn’t the right word for Riley – grinning or smirking is more accurate. Anyway, he does it pretty often, especially around friends. It’s not really in his personality to smile randomly at a stranger, but I wouldn’t put it past him.

2) What is the cruelest thing theyโ€™ve ever been told? And what was their reaction?

Once, someone taunted him by saying, “You gonna go cry to your momma now?” And he took it really personally. For a long time, he held a grudge against that person until they finally made up a few years later.

3) What is the kindest thing theyโ€™ve ever been told? And what was their reaction?

It’s not very specific, but Riley’s favorite guitar teacher had a lot of faith in him and always encouraged him to get better. Even after Riley stopped taking lessons, he still pursued music because of the kind words he’d been told.

4) What is one strong memory that has stuck with your character from childhood? Why is it so powerful and lasting?

When Riley was young, his mother left, not even leaving so much as a note. It’s something that he’s never been able to forget, and the memory affected him a lot growing up.

5) What book (a real actual published book!) do you think your character would benefit from reading?

Riley isn’t much of a reader. If anything, he’ll read biographies about musicians he likes. I do think he’d benefit from reading Fighter by Christopher Greenwood though.

6) Have they ever been seriously injured? How severely? How did they react?

Riley broke his arm badly once when someone dared him to do a hard skateboard trick and he failed miserably. Because there weren’t any adults around, he and his friends called an ambulance and took him to the ER. Amazingly, he and and one friend managed to keep their calm through the whole thing.

7) Do they like and get along with their neighbors?

Riley and his dad live in the upstairs apartment of a 2-apartment complex. He’s lived there his entire life, but with the downstairs neighbors changing every couple of months, he’s never really had the opportunity to get to know them well.

8) On a scale from 1 to 10 (1 being easy and 10 being difficult) how easy are they to get along with?

Probably 3 or 4. Most of the time, Riley’s pretty chill and easy to get along with. It’s only when he’s in a bad mood that he isn’t so relaxed.

9) If they could travel anywhere in the world, where would they go?

Riley would love to go to Cleveland, Ohio. It’s not very exotic, but the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame is there, and that’s reason enough for him.

10) Who was the last person they held hands with?

His girlfriend, most likely.


And that’s a little bit about Riley Taylor! I enjoyed this little challenge a lot more than I thought I would, so maybe I’ll try it again in the future.

To my writer friends: have you ever done this challenge in the past? If so, feel free to share a link in the comment section! I’d love to get to know your characters a little more too.

Until next week!

21 thoughts on “Beautiful People #17 – May 2016

  1. Ooh, I like the sound of Riley! He seems super nice (and easy to get along with! :D) and awww to his guitar teacher. THAT IS SO SWEET that it inspired him so much!
    Thanks for joining in the linkup!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! He’s one of my favorite characters, so it means a lot to me that you like him. I really had a lot of fun doing this linkup! I can’t wait til next month, haha.

      Like

  2. I especially love that his teacher inspired him and that he has a dream to follow.

    Also, I love that heartbreaking backstory. Is that why the cruel comment affected him so much? Because he couldn’t “cry to his mum” ? Let me hug him!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, music is his passion, so it meant a lot to him to have someone encouraging him to pursue it.

      The person who said the “cruel thing” actually didn’t know any better, but Riley still took it very personally for the exact reason you said. Like I said, he held a grudge for a longggg time until the two characters finally settled their differences.

      Like

  3. Awesome! I like the sound of this Riley fellow. I’d bet you dollars to donuts that he’s snarky, because of that smirking smile. (The snarky ones are my favorite)

    Best of luck on this WIP!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Katherine! Yes, Riley is definitely snarky (a smile gives so much away, haha). The snarky ones are always my favorites too (probably because we have a similar sense of humor).

      Thanks! I’m hoping to one day share snippets of the story on this blog, but right now, It’s going through another gruelling editing phase that I’ve kinda stalled on. So your kind words are definitely appreciated!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Kayla! I do enjoy fantasy and have a few ideas for stories in that genre, but I’ve found that the “real life” stuff comes more naturally to me (not that I’m opposed to stepping out of my writing comfort zone, of course). But anyway, I’m glad you like Riley! Of all the characters I’ve ever created for any story, he’s definitely in the Top 5, haha.

      Like

      • Well, I definitely admire you for that! Real life is difficult for me – if writing can ever be called “difficult” (ridiculous!!!). ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Look forward to finding out more about Riley and your other characters (like the fantasy ones!)!

        Like

Leave a Reply

