5 Things I’ll Miss About High School

Today I’m graduating high school.

As you read this, I may already be walking across the stage, receiving my diploma. Either that, or I just tripped over my gown going up the steps, because I’m just graceful like that.

Anyway, today is the day I am officially done with high school. In a way, it’s weird – it’s hard for me to believe that after twelve years, it’s finally over.

It’s also bittersweet. I’m looking forward to moving on to new and exciting things, and, to be honest, high school has been pretty crazy. But at the same time, there’s a lot I’m going to miss about my high school years. With that in mind, I decided to write today’s blog post as a sort of tribute to my good high school memories. There are plenty of good ones, but I think this just about sums it up.

1) The Teachers

Alright, let’s be real: Every high school – or, actually, any school at all – has good teachers and bad teachers. I was fortunate enough to end up with some of the best teachers in my school many times, and they have made my classes memorable. From taking Intro to Tech with one of the toughest teachers to British Literature with the coolest English teacher ever, I’ve had a lot of fantastic teachers. Even as I move on to college, I’m going to miss them and the awesomeness they brought to the classroom (the online classroom, that is).

2) The Flexibility

Most students would probably consider their school schedule pretty rigid. But because of my unique situation with cyberschooling, I’ve had a lot more flexibility than the typical high school student. I’ve been able to sleep in, take an absence from class to hang out with friends on their day off, work at insane hours of the night, and so on. College will require a stricter routine (which is probably a good thing for me),  but I’ll still miss sleeping in until 10am on a Monday.

3) The Clubs

Most of my school friends I’ve met through clubs, or “co-curricular activities,” as my school puts it. I didn’t do much my freshman year, but once I got involved, I got involved. Writer’s Nook, Role-Play Writing, Book Club, Student Activities Committee, the list goes on and on. At times, it was overwhelming, but I’m so glad to have been a part of those groups. From intense discussions about Star Wars to inside jokes about bobby pins, there have been plenty of unforgettable moments.

4) The Classmates

After high school, many people lose touch with their former classmates. I know that for me, that won’t be the case. I’ve met many of my closest friends through my school, and through technology, we’ve been able to keep in touch even though we live miles apart. Not only am I thankful for those friendships, but I’ve also had many classes full of smart, fun discussion among my classmates. This was especially true for the AP Lit class I took my junior year – we were silly and often ridiculous, but we also had a lot of thoughtful talks as well. Although I’m not completely saying goodbye to that, I’m definitely going to miss seeing those people in class.

5) The Weirdness

Yes, my school is frustrating on a regular basis. But oddly enough, I’ve grown accustomed to its annoying quirks. In fact, it’s gotten to the point where I’m amused when my school does something strange, like a virtual Valentine’s Day dance (don’t ask). As much as I find it exasperating, I have to admit, it’s going to feel strange going to a “normal” school.


I’ve made a lot of great memories and friends that I know will stick with me as time goes on. So as I said before: bittersweet. I’m turning the page on this chapter of my life, but I’m also excited to see what happens next. And to everyone who’s been a part of my high school years – thank you. You’re awesome.

Alright, now the sentimentality is out of the way. Do you have any favorite high school memories? A teacher that always made you laugh or a crazy thing that happened? I’d love to hear your thoughts, as always!

Until next time!

Save

One thought on “5 Things I’ll Miss About High School

  1. That was so well written, Maggie. So well said. It almost made me sorry that I didn’t have a high school like that. And now, Onward!

    Like

Leave a Reply

