Top 5 Male Singers

It’s no secret that I love music. I mention it almost every time I write one of my “Best Of” posts, and in the past I even did a short post series on my favorite music videos.

Now, I know there are a lot of elements that go into making an amazing song. But speaking as someone who doesn’t know the first thing about music theory, or even the difference between a violin and a viola (other than that a viola burns longer), the first thing I usually notice about a song is the vocals. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good guitar solo just as much as the next person, but there’s just something about vocals that I love.

With that in mind, this type of post was pretty much inevitable. I love many singers, but there are some that are just fantastic. After much thought, I’ve finally come up with a list of my favorite vocalists. To be fair, I’ve come up with two lists: Top 5 Male Singers and Top 5 Female Singers.Also, I am including musicians who are not necessarily lead vocalists, but have performed lead vocals at least once. In other words, their primary instrument could be guitar or drums, but they’ve provided additional lead vocals on one or more songs.

Anyway, this week, I’ll be focusing on the guys, and next week will be about the ladies. So without further ago, click on the read the list!

Stephen ChristianStephenChristian_Anberlin.jpg
Bands: Anberlin, Anchor & Braille
Notable Songs: Never Take Friendship Personal, Breaking, Hearing Voices, Watch You Burn

From the moment I heard my first Anberlin song, I knew Stephen Christian had an amazing voice. From the alternative rock and post grunge music of Anberlin to the indie acoustic sound of Anchor & Braille, Christian has an incredibly versatile and almost mesmerizing voice. When Anberlin broke up at the end of 2014, I thought that would be the last I’ve heard of him, but fortunately, Christian continued with his solo project Anchor & Braille, releasing his third full length album, Songs for the Late Night Drive Home, in 2016. He’s also written a book, titled The Orphaned Anything’s, worked with To Write Love on Her Arms, and founded the non-profit organization Faceless International.

 tim skipperTim Skipper
Bands: House of Heroes, Copperlily
Notable Songs: By Your Side, God Save the Foolish Kings, Satisfied, A Lot to Learn

If you want a band with a strong rock n’ roll sound, look no further than House of Heroes. Not only that, but the band is well-loved for their vocal harmonies. All of the members have provided vocals at one time or another, but lead singer Tim Skipper really pulls it all together. He and his wife, Stephanie, also have an acoustic band called Copperlily. Granted, it isn’t exactly my go-to genre, but there’s no denying that Tim and Stephanie’s voices work well together. (Also, as a bonus fact, he provided backing vocals for some songs on Relient K’s Forget and Not Slow Down album)

Jason WilkesJason Wilkes
Bands: High Flight Society, Disciple, WILKES
Notable Songs: Run From Yesterday, Lion, You’ve Got a Hold on Me, Pursuit

I first heard Jason Wilkes’ voice on Disciple’s album Attack, although it was only as backing vocals. From there, I decided to investigate further. I started with Wilkes’ former band, High Flight Society, and loved it. When he stepped down from Disciple in 2015 and started a solo project (WILKES), I started listening to that as well. As with Copperlily, it isn’t my go-to genre, but Jason Wilkes is a very skilled vocalist. He also has the best hair of everyone on this list.

tyler josephTyler Joseph
Band: Twenty One Pilots
Notable Songs: Holding Onto You, House of Gold, Tear in My Heart, Polarize

You can’t put Twenty One Pilots in a box. From lighthearted ukulele tunes to rap to electronic, they’ve basically covered every genre. And as a talented lead singer, Tyler Joseph has tackled each of those genres amazingly (is that a word?). Not only that, but he’s also a fantastic songwriter, having written some of the most meaningful lyrics I’ve heard in a long time. It’s no wonder that Twenty One Pilots has skyrocketed to fame.

(Although in fairness, #IVotedJosh)

Christopher Greenwood
Band: Manafest
Notable Songs: Pushover, Reborn, Don’t Turn Away, Fire In The Kitchen

Christopher Greenwood, better known by his stage name Manafest, is a rapper. I’m not the type to usually listen to rap or hip hop, but Manafest has some really awesome and inspiring music. I especially like how he blends the elements of rap and rock together, often working with another one of my favorite musicians, Trevor McNevan (Thousand Foot Krutch). Lyrically, his music is really motivating, especially tracks like “Pushover.” He’s also written one of my favorite non-fiction books, Fighter.

Manafest-ph-cr-Melanie-Greenwood


Of course, there are many others I wish I could have included, but these five vocalists are by far some of my favorites. I can’t wait to start working on next week’s list for my Top 5 Female Singers!

Have you listened to any of these artists before? Who are some of your favorite singers? I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments section!

(Also, apologies for the late post – it’s been a crazy week, but I wanted to still get this out to you. Don’t worry, I still plan to post again on Friday!)

OSave

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Male Singers

  1. Yes to Tyler Joseph! I’m becoming more and more obsessed with Twenty One Pilots every day. I’m actually going to see them tonight. I’m beyond excited. 😆
    When I saw the the topic of your list the first person I though of was Adam Gontier. I’ve been such a huge Three Days Grace fan for a long time and his new band, Saint Asonia is great. I love Adam’s voice and I feel like it’s so distinctive.
    My top five would probably be Tyler Joseph, Adam Gontier, Corey Taylor, Brendon Urie, and Patrick Stump.
    There are a lot of bands I haven’t listened to yet on this list so I’ll definitely have to check them out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s awesome! I hope you had a good time at the concert, I’ve always wanted to see them live!
      I agree, Adam Gontier has a very distinctive voice. I haven’t been following him or TDG much lately, so I’ll definitely have to look into that!
      Oh yeah, Brendon Urie has a great voice too. I don’t listen to P!atd very much, but what I’ve heard is great.
      Thanks so much for your comment! I’m definitely going to take a look at some of your favorites too ^_^

      Like

  2. I think the key thing with any singer is that his/her vocal style matches the music produced by the rest of the band. To mention two of my favorite male singers — (the late) Brad Delp, notably with Boston, was recognized by bandmate Tom Scholz as “being a musician with his voice.” Scholz would arrange and re-arrange the instrumentation to match Delp’s vocal ability, not the other way around.

    Another, Greg X. Volz, made his mark with Petra pre-1985 and produced some memorable music. His last album with them was “Beat the System,” which remains one of my all-time favorites, but nonetheless you could tell that his vocal style and the band’s musical direction were drifting apart — he had a moderately successful solo career, and Petra replaced him with John Schlitt, who was a better fit for them at the time.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I also like Tyler Joseph, Stephen Christian, and Manafest. I think the vocals in disciple are amazing too, both backup and lead. Here’s a few i like, Trevor McNevan, Michael Barnes, and Jordan Taylor, I like a lot more, these are just the ones I’ve been listening to a lot lately.
    Seeya,
    Guitar Solo

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s so cool to see someone with similar music tastes! I agree, all of the vocals in Disciple are amazing (Kevin Young is just so talented), especially on their new album! And I also love Trevor McNevan (TFK was one of the first bands that got me into rock) and Jordan Taylor, they both have such great voices. Honestly, there are just so many great musicians out there, it was hard to narrow it down to just five!

      Like

  4. Cool TFK got you into rock! They are my favorite band I’ve been listening to them for as long as I can remember. I actually hadn’t listened to Jordan Taylor Until about a month or two ago when I discovered Blimey Cow, I know how can I possibly be homeschooled and not heard of them before. I really like his music.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

