Top 5 Female Singers

Before I start – yes, my blog posts are erratic lately. I didn’t think things could get any busier with school being over, but I guessed wrong. These last two weels have been particularly full of volunteering, family visits, and planning events, so when I do have my free time, I usually just slump down and fall asleep. I probably need to be more disciplined.

However, after my previous post about my top 5 male singers, I did promise that I would make a second list for my favorite female vocalists. If you want a recap of the first list, be sure to click the link above, and then come back to read all about my Top 5 Female Singers!

Lacey Sturm
Bands: Flyleaf (Formerly; now a solo artist)
Notable Songs: Beautiful Bride, New Horizons, The Reason, Impossible

If you’ve been following my blog for any length of time, you probably saw this one coming.

Lacey SturmWhile all of the women on this list are amazing, Lacey Sturm is someone that I really admire. She has a fantastic voice (whether she’s screaming or not), and was actually the first solo woman to top the Billboard hard rock charts (source). Aside from that, she also has an incredible life story, as told in her autobiography The Reason: How I Discovered a Life Worth Living. It’s a great book, so if you ever have the chance to check it out, I highly recommend it. But what I like most about her is that she’s a great role model. Not only is she living the dream of being a successful rock artist, but she also manages to balance that with having a life with her husband and two sons. Her music is among the most inspiring that I’ve listened to, and she’s never afraid to share her story with the world. And that is honestly what makes her one of my favorites.

Jen Ledger
Band: Skillet
Notable Songs: Yours to Hold [live], Not Gonna Die, Salvation, Fire and Fury,

Jen Ledger holds the distinction of being the only drummer to make it into my top ten, so that’s something. She replaced Lori Peters as Skillet’s drummer in 2008, and has been an incredibly valuable part of the band ever since. Although she started as a backing vocalist for “Hero” and “Monster” on Skillet’s album Awake, she has provided additional lead vocals on tracks from Rise and the band’s upcoming album Unleashed. Aside from the fact that she joined the band when she was just eighteen (which is how old I am now… no pressure, right?), what I find most impressive is that her voice fits extremely well with lead singer John Cooper’s voice. In addition, she’s an incredible artist, having drawn all fo the artwork for Rise. Oh yeah, and she’s British.

(Side note: Though I may make jokes about the song “Oceans,” I will admit that this version with Newsong and Jen Ledger is pretty darn amazing)

Jen Ledger CFP

Dawn Michele
Band: Fireflight
Notable Songs: Unbreakable, Fire in My Eyes, Now, Safety

Dawn MicheleOnce upon a time, I discovered Pandora Radio and basically went crazy with finding new music and artists to listen to. One of those bands was Fireflight, which, despite their musical similarities to other artists I enjoyed at the time, I never fully got into. However, with their recent release of INNOVA and their collaboration with Stephen Christian, I realized I still enjoyed their music. Lead singer Dawn Michele has an incredible voice that works well with the music, even as the band’s style has changed from rock to a more pop/electronic sound. I’m honestly having a hard time coming up with a word to describe her voice, mostly because I know literally nothing about music, but the best I can come up with is her voice soars. If you want to know what I mean, check out some of the songs I linked to above!

 

Also once, at Uprise Festival 2013, it was pouring rain and Fireflight still went on with their show. If that’s not awesome, I don’t know what is.

Tricia Brock
Band: Superchick
Notable Songs: Anthem, We Live, Stand in the Rain, Voyage of Beliefs [FM Static]

First of all, if you’re looking for an album that screams “Girl Power,” I highly recommend Superchick’s Beauty from Pain.

tricia brockAnyway. I find it hard to shove Superchick into a genre, since they have an incredibly unique sound. The closest I can think of is pop punk, although many songs have a more rock sound to them, while others are softer and more melodic. Either way, there’s no denying that Tricia Brock was the perfect vocalist for the band. Although “Anthem” is my favorite song from them, I think “We Live” is the best showcase of how well her voice worked with the others in the band. And like House of Heroes,  there are a lot of amazing vocal harmonies.

Deena Jakoub
Bands: Don’t Wake Aislin, VERIDIA
Notable Songs: Through the Oppression of the Wicked, Our Voices are Vices, We Are the Brave, Pretty Lies

In last week’s list, I mentioned a few singers who performed for multiple bands, and talked a little bit about how it it was neat to see vocalists carry their skills from one genre to another. However, I don’t think you could have a starker contrast than that between Don’t Wake Aislin and VERIDIA, the two bands that Deena Jakoub has performed with. Don’t Wake Aislin (DWA) was a hard rock band that unfortunately never gained much traction, but was nonetheless amazing. When DWA broke up in 2012, lead vocalist Deena Jakoub and guitarist Brandon Brown regrouped as VERIDIA, another rock band but with a distinct electronic influence. Although these two genres differ, Deena Jakoub has brought her fantastically melodic vocal style to both, and she’s adapted well to each genre. (Also she does really cool stuff with her hair).

Deena Jakoub
(I couldn’t find the original website for this photo, sorry!)

I know it was a long time coming, but there you have it! Of course, there are plenty of amazing women in music, singers or otherwise. I know I’ve just barely scratched the surface.

What about you? Who are your favorites? I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments!

Save

Save

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Female Singers

  1. […] I love all kinds of music – everything from the poppy electronic beats of The Jellyrox to the rapping of Manafest to the heavy riffs of Wolves At The Gate. This is also evidenced by some of my previous posts, like my favorite music videos (Part 1 & Part 2) and my favorite lead vocalists (Part 1 & Part 2). […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

