Best of June

Wow, two blog posts in one weekend! Surprised?

Well, normally I would’ve given myself a few days between blog posts, but since I’ll be away all of next week, I figured I should go ahead and share my favorite things from June. A lot of exciting things happened, from new album releases to graduation to visiting family. I have a lot to talk about, so I won’t hold back any longer. Click to read on!

My Blog

My blog posting was erratic, especially towards the end of the month. Oddly enough, the one week I was worried about (the week of my graduation), turned out to be no problem at all.

Writing Lessons from Steelheart (June 3)
5 Things I’ll Miss About High School (June 10)
Top 5 Male Singers (June 19)
Beautiful People – June 2016 (June 21)
Top 5 Female Singers (technically this was published in July, but as it is the counterpart to a post I wrote in June, I’m including it in this compilation)


Music

exhale
The cover for TFK’s album Exhale

The biggest music news for this month is that Thousand Foot Krutch released Exhale on June 17. I made the mistake of not pre-ordering it, so as of this writing, I haven’t heard the album yet. However, I just now discovered that you can stream it on YouTube, so if you’re interested, be sure to check that out! If the singles they released are any indicator, the album is amazing.

Also, Skillet shared their music video for the song “Feel Invincible” this month. After being mostly underwhelmed with their videos for Rise (the music videos, not the lyric videos), I was really impressed with what that did for this song. It’s epic and in-your-face, just as a Skillet video should be.

This isn’t necessarily news, but I picked up Anberlin’s Never Take Friendship Personal: Live in New York City CD a few weeks ago because it was on clearance at a local Christian book store (they’re downsizing their music collection, sadly). As someone who never got to see Anberlin live, it was really nice to listen to that all the way through, so I highly recommend it if you’re into their music. Alternatively, if you’re a diehard Anberlin fan and/or have money to burn, you could buy their vinyl discography box set.

One more side note: I received an early digital copy of House of Heroes’ new album COLORS, and I gotta say, it is amazing. I’m sure I’ll talk about it more later this month, but I wanted to throw that out there.


Videos

I’d like to take a moment to thank my family and friends for not asking me any of the Annoying Questions Graduates Get Asked, as outlined in this video by Blimey Cow. I really appreciate it. It saved me a lot of frustration (I promise this isn’t sarcasm).

That’s really the only notable video from this month, aside from this really sweet video for “Souveneirs” by Switchfoot. I know some of the people involved in making it, so definitely check it out, it’s amazing.


Articles & Blogs

First off is an article from This Incandescent Life, titled, “9 Productivity Hacks to Help You Meet Your Next Deadline.” I found it to be super helpful, and if you’re a busy person like me, I think you’ll enjoy it as well.

On the writing front, my favorite post from this month is definitely Hannah Heath’s post on the “7 Absolutely Essential Tips for Writing Sarcastically” As someone who is sarcastic by nature but struggles with putting it into writing, this was a great blog post to read. Also, she’s celebrating her two year blog anniversary this week, so stop by and wish her a happy blogiversary!

And finally, Miranda Kulig at Dreams and Dandelions did a series on editing books, and you can read the first part here. It has a lot of great tips for revising and editing, so if you are also stuck in an endless loop of editing, this might just be the remedy you need.


Books

I don’t have much for you in the way of book-related news, but this past month I read a really interesting nonfiction book called The Family Romanov: Murder, Rebellion, and the Fall of Imperial Russia. I’ve had this weird fascination with Russia’s last royal family ever since I read a historical fiction book about Grand Duchess Anastasia when I was in middle school. So if you’re into history, this one’s definitely worth a read.


My Life

June was a whirlwind, wasn’t it? Let’s start from the beginning.

On June 10, I graduated high school! It was sort of bittersweet, since it meant I’d be saying goodbye to the school I’d been attending for the past thirteen years, but it was awesome seeing a lot of my friends for the first time in a while. The ceremony was three hours long (which is a long story in itself), but it was worth every second. I’m finally done!

Since many of us in our school come from long distances to go to graduation, we hold prom that evening at a hotel nearby. I went last year since I was on the planning committee, but it was nice to go this year and just enjoy myself. I had an amazing time taking goofy pictures and just getting to hang out with my friends. (And I may or may not have received a crown… but that’s a story for another day)

2016-06-10  039 Prom Queen - Copy
I really have the best friends ever. Love you guys

Not long after, some family came to visit us from North Carolina. My favorite part of the week was definitely going out to lunch with my grandma, aunt, and one of my cousins. It was really nice to spend the afternoon with them!

A few weeks later we held my graduation party, which was a blast. I got to see a lot of people from church, and a few friends were able to join us as well. Honestly, aside from graduation, it was one of the best days of my year so far, so thank you to everyone who came! (Also, thanks to my mom for baking the food, buying decorations, and just being all around awesome with the party)

Other than all that, not much has been going on. I finally got a new laptop to replace my school one, and I love it. It’s so nice to have a computer all to myself now! What else… I’ve been helping out at the library again, though in a much smaller way than I did last summer. I’m also preparing to go on a mission trip with church next week, so I’m sure I’ll have plenty of stories to tell from that when I come back!


So that was my month! Do you have any exciting stories from June? Or any fun plans for the Fourth of July weekend? I’d love to hear about it in the comments below!

Talk to you all again soon!

4 thoughts on “Best of June

Leave a Reply

