The Sunshine Blogger Award

First, I’d like to thank…

Okay, no, it’s not that kind of award. But still, this is pretty exciting! The Sunshine Blogger Award is something that I’ve seen passed around on many blogs I follow, and I’m so happy to say I was nominate!

A big thank you to my friend Paige Turner @ Between Reality for nominating me! If you love reading honest book reviews, go visit her blog! She’s one of the best book reviewers I know, and she’s been doing a lot of other cool stuff on her blog lately, so be sure to check it out!

Anyway, the Sunshine Blogger Award is pretty simple. There are three steps:

  • Thank the people/person who nominated you.
  • Answer the questions from your nominator(s).
  • Nominate eleven other bloggers and give them eleven questions.

Paige asked some pretty cool questions, so without further ado, let’s get started!

1) If your entire book collection was destroyed except for one book, what one book would you hope was saved?

Sheesh, that’s a hard one. I love all my books equally! But if I had to choose, I think it would be The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan. (If I was allowed to save a nonfiction book too, I’d choose The Reason by Lacey Sturm.)

2) What’s your favorite snack to eat while reading a book?

Goldfish crackers when they’re available. Otherwise I’ll eat anything non-messy.

3) What are two of your pet peeves as a reader?

I can only pick two? Let’s see… one would definitely be flat and/or cliché characters. Sometimes clichés can be good, sure, but most of the time they are bad. The second would probably be dead plots. If your storyline starts to feel like a chore to read, rather than entertainment, you’re doing it wrong.

4) What’s a book everyone should read at least once in their lifetime?

My first thought went to non-fiction and one of my favorite books, Do Hard Things by Alex and Brett Harris. It’s a book that I have found very beneficial as a young adult, and while that is the age range it is intended for, I think anyone would be able to get something out of it.

A fiction book I think everyone should read is Things Not Seen by Andrew Clements. Again, it’s intended for a YA audience, but it’s very thought-provoking and original. I just re-read it recently and thoroughly enjoyed it.

5) Music or silence while reading?

It depends on the situation. If I’m reading for fun, I prefer silence. However, if I’m studying a textbook or something, it helps me to have instrumental music on in the background. As a side note, it’s the same with writing. It’s difficult for me to write when music with lyrics is playing background (unless those lyrics relate to what I’m writing), so if I need some music, I play instrumental stuff (right now I’m listening to the Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword soundtrack).

6) What book got you into reading?

I’ve basically been reading all my life, so it’s hard to say. The first young adult novel I ever read was Inside Out by Maria V. Snyder, but one of the books that really got me into YA was Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld. I loved the vivid world he created, the characters were phenomenal, and it’s still one of my favorite novels to this day.

7) When and why did you start blogging?

As most of my readers know, I started “blogging” when I was about eight or nine years old. That blog eventually fell by the wayside, because what elementary school kid knows how to stick to a schedule? I started this blog, Maggie’s Musings, in December of 2015. The reason behind it was that I wanted a place to put my thoughts and ideas, and I really missed blogging regularly. So now you know!

8) If there was one book that doesn’t have a sequel that you wish would, what book would it be? (If that’s confusing, what book do you wish had a sequel?)

In all honesty, there are a lot of books that I wish didn’t have sequels, but that’s a rant for another day. Actually, I’ve been thinking about this for a solid ten minutes now, and I cannot come up with a book that really, really needs a sequel. Most of the stand-alone books I’ve read are pretty good the way they are, and everything else is a part of a series anyway.

9) What’s a blog post you’re super proud of?

Hands down, my favorite blog post that I’ve ever written is “Book Blurb Blacklist.” It was a lot of fun to put together, especially since I got to vent about some of my least favorite YA clichés. I’m really proud of how it turned out.

10) What’s one sentence worth of advice you would give to another reader?

Don’t be afraid to try new genres of books; you’ll never know if you like something if you don’t give it a shot!

11) Do you steer clear of hyped/popular books or welcome them?

I don’t really care either way. I often don’t read books in the height of their popularity (I didn’t start reading The Hunger Games until after the first movie came out, for example). I don’t really do that intentionally, it just kinda happens.


And now it’s my turn! I don’t really have 11 people to tag, but here’s who I nominate. If you’re reading this and what to join in on the fun, feel free!

Olivia @ Fluttering Pages

Kiara @ Bookends

Blossoming of a Bookworm

Here are your questions!

  1. Nacho Cheese Doritos or Cool Ranch Doritos?
  2. What is your Meyers-Briggs type? (If you don’t know, find out here!)
  3. What is one book/series that you loved but everyone else (in general) hated? And vice versa?
  4. If you had the opportunity to travel to ONE place, anywhere in the world, where would you go? Why?
  5. If you could live in any book’s world, what would you pick and why?
  6. Name one interesting thing you keep on your desk (just for fun)
  7. Do you prefer e-books or traditional books? (no judging here!)
  8. Who is your favorite fictional character?
  9. What is your dream job?
  10. For you, what is the most rewarding part about blogging?
  11. Favorite kind of cereal?

As always, thanks to everyone for reading my blog! See you next week!

Save

5 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award

Leave a Reply

