West Virginia Missions Trip

Happy Friday, everyone! Congrats on making it through the week! (That’s mostly for you, readers, but also for myself as I’ve had another crazy week and I find it amazing that I made it to Friday).

Anyway, most of you probably recall a few weeks ago when I mentioned that I was going on a missions trip to West Virginia. I was gone for a whole week, though I did have a blog post go up while I was away (if you missed it, you can read it here). Now that I’ve had time to get my life back in order, I thought I’d take some time to tell you about what we did in West Virginia!

Sunday was our travel day. We left fairly early in the morning and it took us about seven hours to get there (probably longer because we stopped for breaks and lunch). Since it was the first day, it was pretty much uneventful. We arrived and got settled in, then just kinda hung out. The next day was when the work would start.

We spent the whole week at the same worksite, which was an uninhabited house that would be going to a family in need when it was completed. We had a few projects throughout the week, which were:

  • Insulation for the basement ceiling, as well as the new front and back rooms of the house
  • Putting in electrical boxes and drilling holes for the new wiring
  • Replacing the studs on two walls
  • Repairing the front steps and putting a new railing up
  • Digging holes for the footers for the back deck

I’ll be honest, the days kinda run together after a while (I did a poor job of keeping track of what we did each day this year), so I’ll just run through the highlights.

Putting in the insulation was one of the bigger jobs on the worksite. I wasn’t involved in that project very much, but the people who were did an amazing job! These are the pictures from our last day on the site, after the insulation installation (sorry, inside joke) was complete.

(Click the images to see them full size)

We also put in the electrical boxes in the front and back rooms (they’re those little blue things you see in the pictures above – there’s a close-up of one below). In addition, we drilled holes in the studs so that the new wiring could go in eventually.

2016-07-06  010 WV Day 4

Another project was digging holes in the backyard so that footers for the back deck could be put in. That doesn’t sound so bad, until you consider that the holes had to be 3.5 feet deep – easier said than done. But by the end of the week, they were finished!

Later in the week, one group was tasked with replacing the studs in two walls of the house. These walls actually used to be the outer walls until the front of the house had been extended further. But still, they had to be replaced. The group working on them did such a  great job!

2016-07-08  059 WV Day 6
The wall that was repaired. You can see the opening where the front window used to be.

Finally, the project that I spent most of the time on was repairing some of the front steps and building a new railing for them. It was rough and sometimes muddy work (did I mention it rained at least once a day?) but I’m so happy we were able to get it done. I don’t have any “before” photos, but here’s what the steps looked like when we were done!

Although the purpose of the trip was to do work in the community, we had time for some other stuff too!

On Wednesday, we had the afternoon off, so we went to this really fun mini golf course. Each hole was modeled after a landmark or something else notable in West Virginia. For example, there was the New River Gorge Bridge, where you had to putt your ball over a tiny replica of the bridge, and another one with a coal mine. It was very unique and fun, and everyone in our group had a good time. There are plenty of other stories from that day, but I don’t think I have enough time to tell all of them. Maybe another day…

Oh yeah, and since it was raining earlier in the week, we didn’t have fireworks for the 4th of July, but on Thursday we had sparklers!

2016-07-07  008 WV Day 5


Honestly, there is so much I could tell you about this trip, but that would take more than one blog post. Perhaps another day I’ll talk more about the missions trips I’ve been on, but for now I’ll leave you with a few final thoughts. If you’ve never been on any sort of missions trip or service trip, I highly recommend you do so. It’s a great way to help out others in need (even if you’re like me and have no construction skills at all).

Have you ever been on a trip like this? I’d love to hear about it! Feel free to share in the comments below!

Until next time!

20160708_144522
My brother and I after a long week of work. (Yes, I’m the one wearing the weirdly thick glasses. It’s a long story)

Save

2 thoughts on “West Virginia Missions Trip

Leave a Reply

