Beautiful People #20 – August 2016

Aaaaand look who’s back with another edition of the Beautiful People writing linkup. I did miss July’s BP, sadly, but I’m glad to be back again this month!

If you’ve never heard of this before, Beautiful People is a linkup hosted by the blogs Paper Fury and Further Up and Further In. The goal of it is for writers to be able to share some fun facts about their characters, and give them the chance to get to know their own characters a little better. Each month, ten questions are posted and the participants answer them for one of their characters. If you’d like to learn more about it, click here.

In the past, I’ve done…
BP #17 – May 2016 (Riley Taylor)
BP #18 – June 2016 (Leslie Summers)

Since I previously introduced you to Riley and Leslie, the main characters of my novella Summertime, I thought I should use this month’s BP to showcase Cheyenne “Chey” Cooper, one of the secondary characters in the story. I don’t talk much about her, but she is mentioned briefly in chapter one of the story, and makes an appearance later on.

August’s theme for BP is “Appearance,” so before I go too much into that, here’s a quick overview of Chey: She’s a few months older than Riley and Leslie, and she’s been friends with both of them for quite a while (though with Riley much longer). She’s a musician, her fist instrument being the piano, but she’s since learned the guitar and bass guitar, and also has some vocal and percussion skills. In short, she loves music.

Actually… I think that’s really all you need to know about her for now, so without further ado, let’s get on with the questions!

Give a brief overview of their looks. (Include a photo if you want!)

Chey 2
A rough approximation of what Chey looks like

Chey Cooper is of average height and has brown eyes. Her hair is a darker shade of brown, somewhat wavy, and falls slightly past her shoulders when she wears it down. Her fashion style is very punk/grunge/whatever you want to call it, but aside from that, it’s actually pretty varied. Tank tops, skinny jeans, combat boots, leather jackets, sometimes skirts and dresses with tights, whatever she thinks suits her.

Share a snippet that involves description of their appearance.

From Summertime:

[Chey’s] dark hair was tied back in a high ponytail, and her brown eyes gleamed with delight. She wore a pair of ripped-up skinny jeans and Doc Martens with a black tank top that proclaimed “Only music can save us.”

What is the first thing people might notice about them?

Probably her eye makeup. She tends to be very bold, especially when it comes to eyeliner. In general, though, her whole “rockstar” look tends to draw attention.

What are their unique features? (Ex: freckles, big ears, birthmark, scars, etc.)

Chey has a small music note tattoo on the inside of her wrist, but you wouldn’t notice it at first glance. Other than that, nothing particularly unique.

How tall are they? What is their build (Ex: stocky, slender, petite, etc.)

Chey is 5’ 6” and on the slender side.

What is their posture like? How do they usually carry themselves?

Chey carries herself with confidence, and walks as though she has somewhere to be. However, her posture is relaxed and she often slouches when sitting.

Your character has been seen on a “lazy day” (free from usual routine/expectations): what are they wearing and how do they look?

Chey’s hair is brushed and held back in a headband. She isn’t wearing her typical amount of makeup – in fact, it’s hardly noticeable. She’s wearing sweatpants and a loose-fitting t-shirt (it’s probably from a concert she went to years ago). On her feet are flip flops.  It might be a lazy day, but somehow she still manages to look halfway decent.

Oh yeah, and she’s probably drinking coffee.

Do they wear glasses, accessories, or jewelry on a regular basis? Do they have any article of clothing or accessory that could be considered their trademark?

For jewelry, Chey has regular earlobe piercings and two cartilage piercings on her left ear. She particularly loves dangly and hoop earrings. She also likes necklaces, bracelets, sunglasses, and pretty much any accessory. Chey’s almost always wearing Dr. Martens combat books, so I suppose that’s her trademark.

Have they ever been bullied or shamed because of their looks? Explain!

Chey’s always had a grunge/rock&roll look to her, so she was often subject to teasing, especially from other girls her age. She never thought much of it though and it hasn’t deeply affected her in any way.

Are they happy with how they look? If they could change anything about their appearance, what would it be?

She’s pretty content with her looks. If anything, Chey would probably change her eye color or the way her hair naturally looks. She likes the color of her hair, but hates the way it always gets tangled.


Thanks for checking out my entry in this month’s Beautiful People! If you’re participating this month, feel free to drop a link to your post in the comments below – I always love seeing what other people’s characters are like. If you’re a writer who’s not already a part of the linkup, I really encourage you to check it out, it’s a lot of fun!

See you on Friday!

img_0615

18 thoughts on “Beautiful People #20 – August 2016

  1. Oh I think Chey sounds AWESOME. And can I just say that I love her name?!? Chey Cooper just has such an awesome ring to it. 😀 Plus I feel like I’ve gotten a really good idea of what she looks like, you are super good at details and description!! She sounds downright epic (especially with that awesome dress sense hehe) And music. AHHHH!! I love music too!!
    Thanks for joining in! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah thank you so much! Her name is one of my favorites among my characters, I’m really proud of it. I’m so glad you like her though! I tend to go a little overboard with details, especially when it comes to characters, so this was a fun exercise.

      Thanks as always for hosting this linkup, and thanks for stopping by! 😀

      Like

  2. Chey sounds super cool! I can definitely picture what she looks like, and from the things you said she wore I have a nice picture of her personality as well. Her music note wrist tattoo is so cool! I love it when people have tattoos that mean something to them. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Melissa! I love it when a character’s appearance ties into their personality, especially down to the smallest detail. And thanks! I think tattoos are really cool when they have some special meaning to the person with them (needles freak me out though so I doubt I’d ever get one myself :P)

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Like

  3. I really like Chey! I’m not much of a contemporary reader (ironic, since you popped over to my blog and said you weren’t much for my genre, either), but she sounds cool. I love how she has her own style. For someone who doesn’t care much what she wears, I enjoy other people’s styles a whole lot. 😉

    I love doing Beautiful People; it’s a great way to discover others’ blogs and characters! Now I have to check out the rest of your blog. . . . 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Anna! It’s kinda funny that you mention that, because I actually don’t usually read a lot of contemporary-style fiction, but this story just sorta happened that way, haha. Chey’s style is one of my favorite things about her as well, it’s very uniquely her and it’s fun for me to imagine what she’s wearing that day.

      I agree, BP is a great way to find other writers and blogs, and it’s so much fun! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

