Best of August

Another month, another Best Of! I hope all of you awesome readers had a great August and enjoyed these last few weeks of summer. I’ve been pretty busy myself, but I still had time for some cool stuff, which I’ll talk about later. For now, let’s get right into it!

Blogging

In case you missed it, here’s what I blogged about this month!

Top 5 Heroines (August 12)
Beautiful People #20 (August 16)
Top 5 Heroes (August 19)
August in Pictures (August 26)

I also wrote  a guest post for Between Reality titled Character Clichés I Could Live Without, so be sure to take a look at that as well!

Music

This month’s music news is a big one, so I’m not gonna give any introduction and just get right to it.

Skillet’s new album was unleashed this month! *cue groans* It is, as you can probably tell from the bad pun, titled Unleashed. You can listen to a mashup of songs from the album here. To me, it’s still not as great as Comatose, which is one of my favorite albums of all time, but it’s a step in the right direction. The band was also featured on Fox & Friends this month, and you can watch their interview and performance of “Feel Invincible.”

Lacey Sturm released her first music video from her solo album Life Screams for the song “Rot.” I will say I was rather surprised when they announced the video would be for this song, since it’s kinda intense thematically, but the band did an amazing job with it.

In a sad bit of news, Kristen May, the lead singer of Flyleaf, has announced she is leaving the band. In a video on her Facebook page, she explains the reasons behind her departure. When Lacey Sturm left Flyleaf a few years back and Kristen took her place, I was sad. But at the same time, I admire Kristen’s courage in taking the position of a person who had been so beloved by her fans. I had the privilege of seeing her perform with Flyleaf once, before their album Between The Stars came out, and I loved it. She did great things with the band, and it’s sad to see her go, but I wish her all the best with her future endeavors.

flyleaf may
Kristen May with Flyleaf

Finally, there are three new album releases on the horizon! Disciple has launched a Kickstarter campaign for their upcoming record Long Live The Rebels (which I have yet to support, but I’m totally planning on it). Glasslands also has some new music being released soon: Their first full-length album, Pariah, will be released on September 23, and you can listen to two of the songs now, “Fame” and “Soul Without A Home.”

And although I haven’t been listening to their music for very long, I’m very excited about Memphis May Fire’s upcoming album This Light I Hold, to be released on October 28. I just recently bought their album Unconditional, and I love it so much. I really look forward to hearing their new music in the future! You can watch the lyric video for their song “Carry On” here.

mmf
The cover for Memphis May Fire’s upcoming album, This Light I Hold

Books

Just a few small book-related things for this month. First, if you’re a bibliophile like me, you might be interested in this list of the most beautiful library in each of the 50 states. It looks like a good road trip list to me…

Second, my lovely friend Lexi was featured on the Author Spotlight of a local news station! Her books are absolutely amazing, so be sure to watch the interview and pay her Facebook page a visit for more information about her books!


Writing Resources

If you’re a writer like me, be sure to check out these resources and other writing-related blog posts from this month!

10 More Incorrect Assumptions About Writers is a follow up to another, similar post in July from You Write Fiction. (#20 is my personal favorite – I’ve never been a coffee drinker and I probably never will be a coffee drinker. I do love tea though.)

This Incandescent Life had some great thoughts for all of us introverted writers out there (which, let’s face it, is most of us). It’s all about how isolation affects our creativity and why writers need to be out in the world and interacting with others. It’s some great food for thought.

Finally, if you’re trapped in the editing stage like I am, Go Teen Writers shared some great tips on editing, especially if it’s your first time doing a major edit.


Videos

I have three great videos for this month! The first one is a parody of the song “Ride” by Twenty One Pilots about Pokemon Go. Whether you’ve been caught up in this new trend or just like Twenty One Pilots, it’s worth watching.

Next up is the ULTIMATE PUN BATTLE featuring two of YouTube’s greatest pun masters, Chris Howard and Ryan Matlock. I have a warped sense of humor that allows me to think puns are hilarious, but even if you hate puns, you have to at least admire their quick thinking.

And finally, my favorite video from this month –  How It’s Made: Christian Music. This one pretty much speaks for itself, so I’ll just say this: if you follow the popular Christian music industry in any way, you’re gonna want to watch this.

(And Crowder did NOT write “How He Loves”)


My Life

The first week of August, I was away at camp with my youth group! It was my last year going as a student, so it was a little bittersweet, but I had an amazing time meeting new people, hanging out with friends, and doing all kinds of crazy stuff.

And then, the week after, I was completely out of it for a week because I had my wisdom teeth removed. Luckily for me, I recovered fairly quickly and was never in too much pain, but I was pretty tired most of the time and couldn’t do much other than read and watch Netflix. But I’m fully recovered now and hopefully won’t have to go through that ever again!

We celebrated Paul’s (my brother) birthday this month too! Our parents finally caved and bought him a drumset and I haven’t had a decent night of sleep since. Nah, I’m kidding, it’s not that bad. He also got his learner’s permit, which is a little frightening, but also a pretty great accomplishment! So congrats, Paul! (I don’t actually think he reads my blog so I don’t know why I said that, but it’s staying.)

And finally, I moved into college this month. I won’t say too much about it since I’m saving that for another blog post, but I survived orientation week and my first week of classes, so I’d say things are going pretty smoothly! My dorm room is a triple, so I share it with two other girls, but it’s a good size and we each have our own corner, which is nice.

dorm collage
My corner of the dorm room

Thanks as always for checking out my blog post this week! I’d love to hear about what’s going on with you – anything exciting? Are you starting school as well? Let me know in the comments!

Until next time!

Save

2 thoughts on “Best of August

Leave a Reply

