That College Life

Well, so far at least.

Before I even say anything about this, I think it’s appropriate to share this song. Don’t worry, my take on college is not like this in the slightest, but it’s such a wonderfully humorous work of art that I can’t help laugh at it.

Anyway, as most of you probably know by now, I’m a college kid! I’m currently attending Messiah College as an English major and so far, so good! Since there’s a lot to talk about with all this happening, I wanted to just write it all up in one big post as sort of an update of what’s going on right now.

So, I moved in at the end of August and suffered through a long weekend of orientations, forced social interaction, and other stuff that introverts don’t like. Fortunately, I think I’ve recovered by now, and I’m happily settled in to my new college life.

I shared some photos of my corner of the dorm room in my “Best of August” post, but in case you missed that I’ll go ahead and share them again. (Be sure to click on them to open the slideshow and see the full captions)

My room is a design triple, which means I have two roommates but there’s plenty of room for all of us. The three of us are getting along really well, which is definitely a blessing.

And so far, my classes are going really well! Yes, there’s a lot of work involved (I just finished the draft of a 5-page paper before writing this post), but I think I’m starting to get the hang of it. This semester, I have: Communications, Intro to Psychology, French 101, English (for my major), and my first year seminar course, which is about short story writers in the 20th century and how their works can be related to modern technology. (Yikes, that was a run-on sentence).

Communications isn’t my favorite, but it’s not as bad as I thought it would be. I’m just reallyyyyyy not looking forward to giving a speech in the future. French is much better than I expected, especially considering I’m horrible at learning languages, as my high school Spanish teacher could tell you. My professor is super nice and understanding, and I think I might actually be learning something!

french-flashcards
My French flashcards. Lots of studying to do…

English is another one of my favorites. The class I’m in is smaller, only nine students, and all of us are English majors. Our professor gives us a lot of time for discussion, which has always been one of my favorite parts of studying literature. Later on this year we get to read Emma by Jane Austen and some American poetry, both of which I’m very excited for!

Messiah College also requires its students to attend fourteen chapel sessions per semester, which may sound like a lot, but it’s really not bad at all. They’re held twice a week, and now they’ve started six-week small group sessions in place of regular chapel on Thursdays, which cover a large variety of topics.

I will say though, the one thing that throws me off is that I only know about three modern worship songs. A lot of the music they play at these services is stuff from Hillsong, Bethel music, and other artists along those lines, which is fine. I just don’t know a single one of their songs (I couldn’t even tell you all the words to “Oceans” – crazy, right?) I guess there’s a bit of a learning curve with that…

Now, I’ve saved the best for last. My most favorite and most frequented place on campus is… The library! Are you surprised? You shouldn’t be. I mean, just look at all of these beautiful books!

murray-lib

It’s great for studying and working on things (in fact, I’m there now as I write this). There’s an upper level too that’s sorta like a coffee shop, and I like that ambiance even if I can’t stand the taste of coffee. It’s a great place for hanging out, studying, or just reading.

Oh, and did I mention the themed rooms downstairs? There’s five of them, but my favorites are the relaxation room with its huge fluffy beanbag chairs and puzzles, and the comics room, full of comics, graphic novels, and other nerdy goodness.


So that just about sums it up! I hope I didn’t bore you too much with college talk, but I’ve really been meaning to say something about this for a while and I figured there was no time like the present!

If you’re still in school (college, high school, anything), have you started yet? I’d love to hear how your year is going so far! Be sure to drop a comment below and let me know – I always enjoy talking to all of you.

Au revoir! (That’s me trying to write French. I think I’m learning…)

Save

9 thoughts on “That College Life

  1. I’m so glad you’re settling in well. That library looks amaziiiinnggg, especially those comfy chairs; perfect for reading. I started school about a month ago, and it’s been pretty crazy. For some reason all my teachers decide to give quizzes and tests on the same couple of a days. Great post! XD

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Melissa! Yes, those chairs a perfect for reading (provided you don’t fall asleep in them…) And I totally feel your pain. On my first day of class, I got assigned to do a presentation in two days, which was pretty stressful. But I survived, and things are going well now 🙂 Thanks for your comment!

      Like

  2. So I’m in college too, which is why I only just went back and read this. 😛 I enjoyed reading about your life as an English major, considering it’s a path I considered but never ended up going down. I have enough on my plate with genetics; things like the notorious organic chemistry force me to spend lots of time studying and about zero time reading books for fun. Speaking of which, I should get back to studying now. 😛 Good luck with the rest of freshman year! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yikes, organic chemistry sounds scary! Fun fact, I accidentally signed up for an organic chemistry class because I didn’t know that was what it was. Fortunately, the professor emailed me so I could change classes. Even as an English major though, I haven’t had a whole lot of time for “fun” reading. But I still get a few moments here and there.

      Thanks for your comment, and good luck to you as well!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

