Beautiful People #21 – September 2016

Beautiful People is back again! I have something different for you this month, so I’m really excited to get started.

If you don’t know what Beautiful People is, it’s a monthly linkup for writers hosted by Paper Fury and Further Up and Further In. Each month, they give out 10 questions for writers to ask about one of their characters, and through the linkup we’re able to share our stories and characters with fellow writers/bloggers! If you’d like to learn more about it, click here.

This is my fourth time participating in BP. In the past, I did…
BP #17 – May 2016 (Riley Taylor)
BP #18 – June 2016 (Leslie Summers)
BP #20 – August 2016 (Chey Cooper)

All of those characters belong to the same “story universe” – they’re all characters from my novella, Summertime. There are certainly other characters from that universe I could introduce you to, but I decided to do something different and write about a character I haven’t talked about before.

This project is still in the planning stages, with only a loose idea of plot and whatnot. It lacks a proper title, but for the time being I’m calling it “Fighter” after the Manafest song of the same name. The main character and narrator of the story is Trevor Johnson, but I don’t want to say much else about him because 1) that would take away from the BP and 2) a lot of his story is still in flux. I will say, however, that compared to Summertime, this project takes on a much different tone.

Without further ado, on to the questions!

How did you come up with this character?

I don’t entirely remember. Upon searching my computer, the earliest version of Trevor that still exists is from 2011, so I was probably about 12 or 13 years old. Yeah, a long time ago. Since then, his character has gone through a lot of changes (and I mean a lot). I can say fairly confidently, however, that much of his current (and likely permanent) personality drew a lot of inspiration from music.

Have they ever been starving? Why? And what did they eat to break the fast?

Yes, definitely. At least for part of his life, Trevor is homeless (there’s a long story to go along with that, but suffice to say that he was kicked out/he ran away from home). So, homeless and without a job, it’s rather difficult for him to get a hold of food.

There’s no specific food to “break the fast” because Trevor is often starving, so it’s basically whatever he comes across. (Don’t worry though, his life gets better!)

Do they have a talent or skill that they’re proud of?

Not really. Trevor’s self-esteem is on the lower end of the spectrum, so there isn’t much that he’s very proud of. Although he’s not personally aware of it though, Trevor is a hard worker and has the ability to persevere, which I think are both pretty great skills to have.

List 3 things that would make them lose their temper.

  1. Seeing someone he cares about being hurt in any way
  2. Being put down by others
  3. A little more complicated, but getting frustrated with himself. He hates who he’s become, but he can’t seem to change it, and that frustrates him to no end.

I will say that Trevor internalizes a lot of his anger, so it’s rare for him to act out because of it. But if he has to continuously deal with any combination of these things for a long time, he will snap eventually.

What is their favorite type of weather? Least favorite?

Trevor’s favorite type of weather is cloudy, actually. It’s not too hot, but it’s not cold, wet, and miserable either. As you can probably guess, his least favorite weather is rain.

What is their Hogwarts house and/or MBTI personality?

Trevor’s MBTI personality is hard to determine. My best guess is that he’s an ISFJ – “The Defender.” Although he’s not that great at connecting with people, Trevor is certainly guilty of internalizing emotions and taking things personally, as ISFJs often are. However, he is a kind, supportive, and loyal person if you stick with him long enough.

Having a limited knowledge of Hogwarts houses, I’d actually place him in Gryffindor, though Trevor would probably disagree.

Are they more likely to worry about present problems, or freak out about the unknown future?

Both, to be honest. Though I think that for the most part, Trevor tends to worry more about what’s right in front of him. He’s dealt with so much that he’s learned to take life one day at a time. Occasionally, he does get pretty anxious when he thinks about the future.

What is their favorite thing to drink?

Trevor’s favorite drink is root beer, but he has it rarely, partly because the homeless thing (see above), and partly because in his mind, it’s only for special occasions

What is their favorite color? Least favorite?

His favorite color is navy blue, though that shouldn’t come as a surprise considering most of his wardrobe consists of dark colors. His least favorite color is pretty much anything else, though he has a strong dislike of red because it draws so much attention to itself.

What is a book that changed their life?

At the risk of sounding cliché, I’ll honestly have to say the Bible. Aside from being influential in general, it has a great impact on Trevor’s life in the story.


It was kinda hard to share all that because this is a project I haven’t told many people about, even some of my closer writing-circle friends. But I know it was good for me to explore Trevor’s character, and hopefully this brings me one step closer to actually writing it.

Anyway, are you interested in more of this project, or should I stick with what works? Also, if you have any questions about Trevor, I’d be happy to answer them in the comments! Be warned though, I might have to be vague in order to keep myself from revealing Important Plot Things.

And finally, if you’re participating in BP this month, I’d love to read about your characters! Be sure to drop a link in the comments so I can make sure I visit your site.

That’s all for today! Thanks for reading, and I’ll see you on Friday!

img_0615

Save

10 thoughts on “Beautiful People #21 – September 2016

  1. Hahahahaha, we are ALL saying the Bible for “most influential book”!!! Come to think of it, I didn’t say that THIS month, but there was another BP where they asked something along those lines and I said it then. I just thought it was amusing how many of the people who joined in the linkup said that. Anyway, great post. Really enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

