September in Pictures (Uprise 2016)

I mentioned last week that I was headed off to Uprise Fest for the weekend, and I had such a great time! This week, I thought I’d share a bit about my experience and some of the pictures I took as well.

(And don’t forget, you can see more of my Uprise Fest pictures on my Canon Fire Photos Facebook page!)

Friday night was a little slow, mostly because I was extremely tired and I wasn’t super crazy about most of the artists. I did see KJ-52 and Danny Gokey though, and managed to capture a few good shots of both of them. There were some other artists that performed that night as well, like Matthew West, Mandisa, and Chris Tomlin, but I didn’t watch them as closely.

On Saturday, I spent a lot of time hanging around the Rockstar stage, or as my friend called it, the “headbanger stage.” The sound team there was had quite a bit of trouble throughout the day, especially with the first act, Wage War. They only got to perform three songs, which was a real shame since they were pretty awesome. I still got some good photos though!

I took a break for lunch after that, since it was about noon. Then it was back to the Rockstar stage! Gideon was the next act, and they were pretty great also, but the band I was really looking forward to was Wolves At The Gate. I’d seen them for the first time back in October, but I wasn’t very familiar with their music at the time. This time, I knew a lot more of their songs and had an amazing time. Sadly there aren’t any videos of their performance on the internet, but I do remember they performed “Wake Up,” “Relief,” “Dead Man,” and a new song, “Flickering Flame,” along with some others. I also got some pictures of them.

I went back to the main stage after that and got to see the second half of Disciple’s show. I cam just in time to see them perform their two new songs, “Erase” and “Underdog Fight Song.” Since I’m a Kickstarter backer, I’d already heard the songs as one of my rewards, but I love them so much that I was happy that others finally have the chance to hear them. “Erase” is my favorite of the two – it’s a newer style for the band, but it works really well for Kevin Young’s voice and the lyrics are as powerful as always.

Later that afternoon, I saw RED and Family Force 5 on the main stage. I didn’t get many good pictures of them, but I still enjoyed both shows. RED played a good variety of songs from their various albums, including “Breathe Into Me,” “Death of Me,” and “Take Me Over.” Family Force 5 also performed songs both new and old. “Cray Button,” “BZRK,” and “Love Addict,” are some of the ones I remember.

I spent the rest of the night at the Rockstar stage, since Lacey Sturm and For Today were the last acts over there. First though, was VERIDIA. If you remember, VERIDIA’s lead vocalist Deena Jakoub was on my list of favorite female singers, so it was pretty cool to see them perform. I wasn’t familiar with all of the songs, but it was still pretty awesome.

After VERIDIA was Lacey Sturm and her band, which was definitely the other highlight of my day. I’d had the privilege of seeing Lacey last year at Uprise, but that was before she had released Life Screams. She played a lot of new songs like “Impossible,” “Rot,” and “The Soldier,” but also some old Flyleaf hits like “All Around Me,” and a medley of a few others at the end. Honestly, I don’t think I’ll ever stop being inspired by her. Just watching her perform shows how much passion she has, and she’s an amazing speaker as well (she talked a little bit between songs). If you ever have the chance to see her in concert, I highly recommend it.

Finally, For Today took the stage. For those unfamiliar with the band, they’re a Christian metalcore group that I only just recently started listening to, but they’re breaking up at the end of this tour. So even though I only knew three songs of theirs, It was a privilege to see them live for the first and last time. I even bought a t-shirt and a CD.


I don’t know about you, but there’s just something about going to concerts that’s inspiring to me. Being in a crowd usually makes me very uncomfortable, but when we’re all standing there, singing together, it’s amazing. It’s a hard feeling to describe, honestly – I guess it’s kinda like worship, although with a very different style of music. But it’s still powerful in the same way.

All I can really say is, I left that festival feeling better than I had in such a long time. It was a fantastically refreshing weekend after some rather stressful school weeks.

Anyway, thanks for checking out this week’s blog post! What concerts have you been to that you’ve really enjoyed? Have you ever been to Uprise Fest? What are some of your favorite bands? Let me know in the comments, and I’ll see you next week!

5 thoughts on “September in Pictures (Uprise 2016)

    • Yes, her story is amazing! I just finished re-reading her book The Reason, and I loved it even more than I did before. She’s one of those people that I’d love to just sit and listen to/talk with for hours. Thanks for your comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

