Best of September

Today is the first day of October and you know what that means? HALLOWEEN IS COMING.

Well, there’s that and also another edition of “Best Of” (which I’m starting to think is poorly named, but I’ll worry about that another day). Since I’ve been giving you a lot of updates throughout the month about life and college and stuff, I won’t have as much to talk about there, but there are a lot of other things to talk about! So without further ado…

Blog Posts

That College Life (Sept. 9)
World Suicide Prevention Day (Sept. 10)
Beautiful People #21 (Sept. 13)
Purposeful Pages (Sept. 16)
September in Pictures (Sept. 23)
Thinking vs. Feeling in Writing (Sept. 30)


Music

I seem to talk about Skillet every month in these things, so I’ll try to stop myself after this, but I did want to share their new music video for “Stars” with you. Though not necessarily my favorite song by them, the visual effects in the video are absolutely gorgeous. I’ve never been very impressed with their music videos, so this one really caught my attention. It’s definitely worth watching.

One of my favorite bands, Wolves At The Gate, has announced their new album Types & Shadows, set to be released in November. As of this writing, they’ve released two singles from the album, “Flickering Flame,” and “Asleep.” I got to watch them play “Flickering Flame” at Uprise Fest, so I can assure you it’s epic. This is going to be a great album!

types-and

I don’t talk much about rap or hip-hop on here, but I do enjoy that genre of music. Artist Andy Mineo just released a music video I really love for his song “Hear My Heart.” It was written for his sister Grace, who is deaf. In the video, Mineo uses American Sign Language to sign the lyrics while he raps them, and he also uses animations to help viewers “see” the music. It’s really unique and heartfelt, so I encourage you to watch it.


Videos

I’ve got two videos for you this month! The first one is Katie Gregoire’s “How To Fix Your Life,” which I thought was both funny and pretty helpful. Okay, it probably won’t fix all of your problems, but it’s still good advice.

And of course, I have to share “You Might Be a Homschooler If… 7” from Blimey Cow. The last one was especially relevant (and I’m not just saying that to be click-bait-y.


Articles

On the writing side of things, Hannah Heath wrote a great blog post titled, “7 Common Writerly Fears (And How to Combat Them).” As writers, we sometimes can be pretty insecure about our writing – myself included. If that’s you, this is well worth a read.

There’s also this really cool blog post I came across titled “9 Things I Wish I Knew in Freshman Year.” As a freshman in college now, I thought it was pretty useful. So far, so good…

And finally, here’s “5 Goals for ‘Doing Less’ This Fall” from This Incandescent Life. It’s a busy time of year for a lot of us, so this was a nice reminder to take a deep breath every now and then and slow down.


Geekery

I don’t normally have much to share in this area, but I happened to come across a lot of awesome geek-related stuff this month! The first one is this fan-created animated movie trailer for The Legend of Zelda. If you’re familiar with Ocarina of Time, you’ll probably enjoy this. And then you’ll probably freak out because DARN IT WHY CAN’T IT BE REAL???

(As you can see, I’m slowly losing any pretense of seriousness. This is what college has done to me.)

Speaking of Ocarina of Time, I know I’m late to the party on this, but I just discovered Songs of Time by Nathan Sharp (NateWantsToBattle on YouTube), which is an collection of songs based on Ocarina of Time. I haven’t listened to the whole album yet, but you can hear a few of the songs on YouTube. They’re pretty great!

ocarinaoftime

My other favorite geeky fandom, Pokémon, has been doing something kinda cool lately too. They’ve been releasing animated shorts (about 4 minutes each) based on parts of their video games. I’ll admit, it’s not as awesome as I was hoping it to be – the stories feel too disjointed to me – but it’s still pretty cool. You can check it out here.

Finally, Geeks Under Grace celebrated Girl Geek Week this past month with a bunch of articles appreciating the girls in geek culture. There were a lot of great posts, but my favorite was this one. (And now that they’ve got those new GUG shirts, I might buy one…)


My Life

If you’ve been following my posts, you’ve already read about how school is going and my time at Uprise Fest. If not, what’re you doing? Go read those posts! Anyway, since I already blogged about those things, I’ll spend this section talking about stuff I haven’t already.

I’ve gotten involved in a few clubs on campus! I’m on the media team for Minds Matter, a group that promotes mental health on campus. Right now, I’m helping out with their social media pages and specifically, Facebook. I’ve also been doing stuff with the writing club and another group called The Order of The Falcon, which does board games, card games, Dungeons & Dragons, and other stuff like that. I haven’t been to any events yet, but I hope to soon!

I also got sick last week! I had a sore throat after Uprise, which I thought at first was just a result of being at an outdoor concert until it got worse. I’d caught the cold that was going around my floor, which was pretty miserable for about a week. The good news is, I’m finally getting over it and I feel a lot better now!

And on a more positive note, I saw my family last weekend! They came to visit me for the day, which was a lot of fun. I got in a trip to Wal-Mart (which I desperately needed), we went out for dinner, and I got to show them around campus. It was a good time.

rps2-me
My brother and I with my school mascot, the falcon.

In general, school is going pretty well. I’ve made some great friends on my floor and in my classes, and I haven’t had any terrible assignments yet, so I’d say I’m doing all right! I know that might sound overly-positive, but it’s the truth. I’m happy here.


So how are you all doing out there? Anything exciting happen in your September? I’d love to hear about it, so drop a comment below!

Until next time!

Save

4 thoughts on “Best of September

Leave a Reply

