The Bookshelf Tour Tag

Well, this makes 50 posts on Maggie’s Musings! So that’s pretty cool. Anyway, on to the post!

A few weeks back (I know, so long ago), I was nominated by Anna @ The Story Scientist to participate in The Bookshelf Tour Tag. I’ll admit it was a little tricky, considering most of my books are at home right now, but I managed 0kay, I think. Without further ado, here’s a little tour of my bookshelf!

1) A Short but Powerful Book

Things Not Seen by Andrew Clements. Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli comes in at a close second. Compared to other books on my shelf, they’re both on the short side, and they both have incredibly deep themes.

2) A Good, Long Book

I don’t own any particularly long books, but I’d say Goliath by Scott Westerfeld is a pretty lengthy one, and it’s amazing too. (And I promise this wasn’t intended to be a pun).

2014-05-31-books
I know it’s a paperback, but Goliath is still pretty… well large.

3) Favorite Classic (on your shelf)

Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen. I don’t own a lot of classics myself, but that is definitely a favorite.  A Wrinkle In Time by Madeline L’Engle has also held a special place in my heart ever since I read it as a kid (when I say kid, I mean like 5th grade, but it definitely counts).

4) A Relatively Obscure Book

inside-out

Inside Out by Maria V. Snyder. I read this book for the first time for my school’s book club (I was probably in 8th grade), and it was the book that really got me into YA fiction. I’m honestly surprised Snyder doesn’t have a larger following.

5) An Underrated Book

Hm… Aside from a few that I’ve already mentioned in other categories, I’d say Stormbreaker by Anthony Horowitz. Thought it may not be the greatest book ever written, it’s still a fantastic young adult spy novel. Alex Rider is a fantastic character. The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen is also an amazing medieval-esque story. (The main characters for both of these books also made it onto my Top 5 Heroes list a few weeks back!)

6) An Overrated Book

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. Don’t get me wrong, it was a pretty good book, I just… I was not very into it. Maybe it was because I already knew what would happen, but I just didn’t care much for it.

7) Most Reread Book

Probably The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan. I’ve read that book so many times and I still love it. I also just finished rereading The Reason by Lacey Sturm, which is a nonfiction book I cannot recommend enough. It’s another one worth reading over again.

8) A Book You Haven’t Read

Allegiant by Veronica Roth. I picked it up at a yard sale for a dollar or something equally minimal and just never got around to reading it. Possibly because I stopped caring about that series long ago. But hey, at least now I have all three books!

9) A Short Story Collection

I don’t actually own any short story collections (oops). The things that come close are my Homelanders collection (four books in one) by Andrew Klavan or the poetry anthology I bought for school.

hyrule

10) A Non-Fiction Book

Do Hard Things by Alex and Brett Harris is a great nonfiction book. Also, if you’re a geek like me you’d probably appreciate Hyrule Hystoria, which is more of a coffee-table book, but it’s a great look at the history and mythology of The Legend of Zelda game series.

 

11) A Book (physical copy, not the story itself) that has an Interesting Story Behind it

I don’t have a lot of good book-specific stories, but I can tell you about the time I went to a used book sale and came back with an insane number of books. They were all grouped as children’s books (even though they were YA), so they were cheaper. I ended up buying 12 of them for what was probably less than $5 total.

2015-04-25-001-book-sale-haul
The book sale haul

There isn’t any set number of bloggers to nominate, so I’ll follow Anna’s precedent and nominate three people. If anyone else out there wants to participate, consider yourself nominated!

Paige Turner @ Between Reality
Olivia @ Fluttering Pages
Kiara @ Bookends

Be sure to check out the bloggers I linked to above! They’re all very awesome people.

Have you read any of the books on my list? What does your bookshelf look like? Be sure to drop a comment below! I love reading them!

bookshelf-tour

8 thoughts on “The Bookshelf Tour Tag

  1. I LOVE LOVE LOVE The False Prince!! It’s SO underrated. Granted, I read it before I had a reviewers mind, but I’m sure (hopeful) that I would still like it if I re-read it. I’ve read The Fault in Our Stars, but I agree that it’s overrated. I never got a notification that I was tagged so I was quite surprised when I saw my name at the bottom haha. Thanks for the tag, Maggie! Congratulations on making 50 posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mrs. Bennet is pretty funny, if only because she can be rather ridiculous sometimes. Mr. Darcy is my favorite though (probably because we’re a little bit alike…)

      I haven’t read the Series of Unfortunate Events books, though I’ve always wanted to. I think they look pretty interesting.

      Thanks for your comment!

      Like

  2. Oh your welcome. I will give you a warning the Series of Unfortunate Events books do have a couple bad words not many but some so if you do read them just bleep them out in your head unless your reading out loud then bleep them out loud.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

