What’s On My Desk

Or, alternatively: Quirky Stuff in my Study Area

I’ve been working on a lot of things school-wise this week, so I didn’t have a lot of time to prepare a blog post. It’s just been one of those months overall, which also explains why I didn’t do the Beautiful People or Purposeful Pages linkups either. Don’t worry, I’m planning to jump back in next month!

I still wanted to write something today, even though I didn’t have much time to prepare. So as a fun sorta get-to-know-me-better post, I thought I’d show you around my desk/study area. It has a lot of character (or at least I think it does), so it should be at least entertaining.

2016-10-28-002-canadian-flag

Canadian Flag

Anyone who knows me likely knows that I have a mild obsession with Canada, even though I’ve only been there once (and I’m not entirely sure it counts, since we were just on the Canadian side of Niagara Falls). I’m certain about how my Canado-philia started, but I’ve always wanted to go back and sightsee. When my brother went to Quebec with his French class, he brought me back this flag (at my insistence), and it’s been with me ever since.

A Lot of Zelda

wind-waker

First, there’s this epic poster that I got from a special edition of Nintendo Power (before they kicked the bucket, that is). It’s from the final scenes of The Wind Waker, and is surprisingly motivating. I mean if Link, a chronic oversleeper, can become the Hero of Winds, defeat the evil king Ganon, and save The Great Sea, I think I can make it through my 8am classes.

2016-10-28-004-link-and-zelda
Yes, that’s Hyrule Historia in the background. Because I needed another textbook-like object at school, obviously.

There are also these two adorable crocheted Link and Zelda dolls that my mom made for me. They’re a sweet reminder of home and they make me smile every time I see them. (And one of these days, Link WILL get a Master Sword…)

This Cross Necklace

2016-10-28-003-cross-necklace

Which hangs from my Canadian flag, if only because I had nowhere else to put it. The Bible reference on it, Philippians 4:6, is one of my favorite verses:

Philippians 4:6-7 (NKJV)

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything, by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your request be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

The necklace was a gift from one of my roommates, whose dad makes these necklaces with all sorts of Bible verses on them. It’s a good reminder every time I see it.

2016-10-28-006-duct-tape

Duct Tape and Superglue

Because I break a lot of things and usually need to fix them in one way or another.

2016-10-28-008-tea

Tea + Travel Mug + Electric Kettle

I gotta get my tea fix somehow, guys! Since coming to college, I feel like I’ve become a bit of an addict…

1 Unicorn and 1 Unicorn Cat

2016-10-28-005-unicorns

Just like my weird Canada obsession, I also have a weird unicorn obsession. I blame Eleventyseven. The cat is Pusheen, an online cartoon. You’ve probably seen their stickers on Facebook.

2016-10-28-009-lip-balm

EOS Lip Balm

THIS STUFF WORKS WONDERS. It’s not super medical or expensive, but after it seemed chapstick wasn’t working on me anymore, I decided to give this a try and I love it. I stick with the “sweet mint” kind, since it seems to work the best for me, but it’s helping so much in these winter months.

2016-10-28-007-markers

Address Labels and Sharpies

Because I always lose things and I’d really like them to be returned to their rightful owner (me).


…aaaaand a bunch of other stuff like photos, books, rubber bands, and so on and so forth. I tried to pick out the most interesting stuff, as you can see.

So what do you keep on your desk? Anything unusual or different? I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments.

I’ll see you next week, but just a heads up before I go – Things might be changing a little bit on my blog here, at least temporarily, but I haven’t quite decided yet what I’m doing. Once that gets sorted, I’ll be sure to let you all know. I’ll be Monday by the latest.

Thanks as always for reading, and have a great weekend!

Save

4 thoughts on “What’s On My Desk

Leave a Reply

