5 Ways I De-Stress

College is stressful. Well, to be fair, life can be stressful no matter what stage you’re in, though the stressors are often different.

But college gets stressful from time to time, and if you read my Weekly Wrap-Up on Friday, you’ll know last week was kinda rough. Fortunately, I didn’t have too much homework, so I was able to take some time and relax over the weekend. As I was trying to figure out what to blog about today, I thought it’d be nice to share some of the ways that I de-stress when life gets overwhelming.

A lot of my stress often comes from things being out of control or out of order, so you’ll see that some of my de-stressing techniques involve me putting things back into place or solving a problem. Of course, this may be different for you, so be sure to tell me about how you de-stress in the comments afterwards!

1) Coloring / Drawing

There’s nothing like sitting at your desk with a warm cup of tea and a coloring book. I love using colored pencils and abstract designs the most, since they allow me to be the most creative. I also draw from time to time, but that tends to be more time-intensive, so I don’t do that as often. But even if you don’t think you have any artistic skill, coloring is a thing anyone can do. And you can find coloring books just about anywhere now, so pick one up and start de-stressing!

2) Video Games

This one I have to be careful with, because sometimes, video games can actually cause more stress. I usually stay away from ones that are especially difficult for me, because even if I enjoy them, they can be frustrating. When I’m stressed out, I like to stick with games that are easier for me but still entertaining. Back home on my GameCube, I’ve started replaying The Legend of Zelda: Wind Waker on “Hero Mode,” which has proved to be fun. I’m also working on building up my team in Pok√©mon AlphaSapphire, which is great because it gives me a goal without it being impossible.

pokemon

3) Organizing

This is a weird one, but it actually works wonders for me. As I said, a lot of my stress can come from things being out of order, so cleaning up and putting stuff back into place helps me clear my head and calm down. Even little things like making my bed, straightening up my desk, or organizing my closet helps me. I also try to get my life back in order, making checklists of what needs to get done, when it needs to get done, and in what order I need to do them. When I get my tasks organized and laid out in front of me, I feel better about being able to get them done.

to-do

4) Music

Whether I’m laying in bed with my headphones in or singing along with the song blaring from my stereo, music is great for de-stressing. And the nice thing about it too is that I can group it with another one of my stress relievers – listening to a playlist while coloring or cleaning up really helps me calm down.

cds

5) Writing

This shouldn’t come as much of a surprise to you, but writing for fun is a great stress reliever. I usually don’t work on big projects when I’m stressed, since they often add to the stress, but I like to write fun things that I don’t plan on doing anything with. Placing myself in another world where I decide what happens is fun and relaxing, and it helps expel the stress and anxiety I have going on.

notebook


And that’s how I like to de-stress! Now, I can’t guarantee these will work for everyone, but I think they’re at least worth a try. I’d love to hear your stress relief methods as well, so be sure to let me know in the comments below! I’m always looking for new things to try.

Thanks for reading, and I’ll see you on Friday!

One thought on “5 Ways I De-Stress

Leave a Reply

