Week In Review: Nov 11

Welcome to another Friday morning, readers! First of all, I want to thank all of you for your encouragement after last Friday’s WIR post – it means the world to me, and I really appreciate it. And for those who were wondering, the life-size clue at the library went great last week! There were 18 teams total, and our team was one of 8 that solved the mystery. We didn’t win any of the prizes, but we had a great time anyway!

Like last week, this week had its ups and downs too, but in light of some negativity I’ve seen going around, I want to keep this week’s wrap-up on the encouraging side. Without further ado, my week in review!

In School… I have a few group projects coming up in the next few weeks, one for my psychology class and one for my communications class, so I’ve been working on those too. Other than that, we’ve been doing these sort of informal oral storytelling exercises on my First Year Seminar class. Last week, we brought in pictures to talk about, and this week we made playlists. I talked about mine on Tuesday, which was kinda hard – I don’t really care for talking about myself to begin with – but I think it went okay. If you want to look at/listen to my playlist, it’s on Spotify.

Listening to… A lot of RadioU, both their Riot podcast and the actual radio stream. I haven’t listened to them much since coming to school, and I forgot how much I loved their station, both the DJs and the music. It’s really lifted my spirits the last few days. I’ve also been jamming out to Wolves At The Gate’s new album, Types & Shadows. I ordered the CD last week so it hasn’t arrived yet, but I got the digital download, and it’s AMAZING. WATG never fails to impress me.

Trying to… take better care of myself mentally. I’m using some of my favorite de-stressing techniques, especially playing video games. (Okay, I did get frustrated the other day when I accidentally shut down the game without saving, but for the most part, it’s been a nice way to relax). I’ve also been taking a break from Facebook and Twitter the last few days, since a lot of what I was reading was stressing me out. I haven’t left completely – I check maybe once a day for a few minutes, but I can’t handle it much longer than that. It’s a much-needed break for me, and I feel better because of it.

Looking forward to… My school is hosting Christian rap/hip-hop artist NF this weekend! I can’t say I’m super familiar with his music, but I’ve heard a few songs before and I figured I had nothing to lose (the tickets were only $5 for students). It should be fun – I’ll be sure to tell you about it afterwards (probably in next week’s post).

Happy because… I got a new t-shirt! I’ve been wanting this for a while, but when I saw that TeePublic was having a site-wide sale, I finally decided to order it. It arrived a day early (along with a letter from someone back home, which was equally uplifting). I love it so much!

img_1533
I promise this is the only mirror selfie you’ll ever see me post.

Thankful for… new headphones, RadioU, Bulbapedia, quiet libraries, sweatshirts, The Legend of Zelda, andย  my travel mug (seriously, it’s pretty much the best thing I own).


What have you been up to this week? I’d love to hear about it in the comments below!

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

