Overshadowing Thanksgiving

Today is November 21. Do you know what that means?

34 DAYS UNTIL CHRISTMAS!!!!

I can see it now… the snow falling down, the presents under the tree, the stockings stuffed with candy…I just love Christmas.

But wait. I feel like I’m forgetting something…

Alright friends, don’t get me wrong, I love Christmas. I have an entire Spotify playlist dedicated to Christmas music that’s just waiting to be deployed the day after Thanksgiving. As soon as the clock strikes midnight, I’ll probably look like this:

christmas-selfie
Hello 2015 me. Not much has changed.

So yeah, I love Christmas. It’s a fun time of year, and I love the cheerfulness and happiness of it all. But sometimes, I feel like we Americans* tend to overlook the holiday between Halloween and Christmas – Thanksgiving. It feels like as soon as we turn our calendars to November, we jump right into the Christmas season, forgetting about the the little holiday in the middle.

This isn’t supposed to be a guilt trip. I’m not telling you to not love Christmas or to not start thinking about it ahead of time. And I’m not going to call you a greedy, materialistic person if you love Christmas. Chances are, you just love the Christmas season and the Christmas hype, which I totally get. And there’s nothing wrong with that.

But as Thanksgiving approaches and we get ready to sit down and spend time with our families, maybe we should slow down. Take a deep breath and enjoy the peace before the Christmas season truly begins. I feel like we rush ahead so much that we miss the tranquility and togetherness of Thanksgiving.

Let’s face it, it’s been a rough year for a lot of us. Many of us are stressed. So before we get caught up in Christmas – for better or for worse – let’s slow down, take a breath, and enjoy this time of year.

Happy Thanksgiving to all my American readers! I hope you have a wonderful week and that it’s filled with happiness. I’ll see all of you on Friday!

2015-10-24-036-halloween-party-fire
Mmm… I can’t wait to be sitting in front of this fire

*Note: I realize that I have a number of international readers (you’re awesome!) and that Thanksgiving is very much an American holiday, so you go right on ahead and celebrate Christmas or whichever holiday you celebrate, friends. I’m not stopping you 🙂

Leave a Reply

