A Few of My Favorite (Writing) Things

Here’s a secret: I didn’t prepare a blog post for today. I was at home for Thanksgiving and got to spend a lot of time with family, so I didn’t get the chance to write something for today.

Good news is, I still have something! I gathered some of my favorite writing-related things from around the internet to share with you – everything from blog posts to quotes to memes. To all my fellow writers out there, this one’s for you!

These quotes:

These websites & resources:

“The Dos and Don’ts of Storytelling According to Marvel” series from Helping Writers Become Authors. An extremely helpful mix of fandom and writing. Start with the first post or look at the entire series.

This page full of genre mindmaps to kickstart the writing process. There are only a handful of genres, but there are a lot of good ideas to be found there!

This world generator, which creates a world based on what you put in. Very helpful if you’re writing something set in a made-up world, are a visual thinker, or just really love maps

This free character worksheet that I’ve used a number of times for various characters. It certainly makes you think a lot about your characters!

SoundFuel, a website with soundtrack playlists tailored to the genre you’re writing! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve used this.

This sign:

I think every writer needs one of these. I believe you can buy one on Amazon.

sign

These Peanuts cartoons:

Because I think we can all relate to Snoopy here.

These handy-dandy graphics and charts:

lie-lay
Because even after 18 years of living, I still can’t remember the difference.
emotions
I like to call this one the wheel of emotions
tastes-smells
And for some reason, no one ever talks about how to describe scents and tastes. So here’s something to remedy that.

These blog posts (from some of my favorite writing blogs!)

8 Different Kinds of Strengths to Give Your Characters from Hannah Heath. I love all of Hannah’s posts, honestly, but this one has remained one of my favorites. It’s given me a lot to think about, and it’s an interesting question to ask other writers too. What strength does your character have?

Top 10 Soundtrack Composers from Nate Philbrick @ You Write Fiction. I don’t know about you, but I really struggle with writing while listening to my regular music. If I need something in the background, I usually put on some soundtracks, and this is a great place to start if you need to build up your writing playlist.

How I Do Betas: Tips on Efficiently Testing Your Book on Willing Test Subjects from Victoria Grace Howell @ Wanderer’s Pen. I haven’t gotten to the beta reader stage yet for any projects, but this provided some good advice for future reference. One day, I’ll finish this draft and get some beta readers….

Writing the Female INTJ: The Missing Character from Gabrielle Massman @ Write for the King. Okay, so maybe I’m a little biased (this is my Myers-Briggs type, after all). But really, this is a type of personality that is typically limited to male characters, and Gabrielle does a great job of explaining how to write a female character with this personality type. (Now go and write one! The fiction world needs more.)

Keep Your Writing Organized with a Bullet Journal from S.M. Metzler @ Tea with Tumnus. I just started a bullet journal myself, and I love it! I really like this idea for using it to organize writing. Oddly enough, I’m organized in just about every area of my life aside from writing. One of these days, I’ll give this a shot…

You Want to Go Home and Rethink Your Redemption Arc from Grace @ The Plot Project (it’s a collab blog, so Faith also writes for it, pleasedontkillme). I love this because 1) gifs 2) Star Wars 3) It’s got some really great writing tips for redemption arcs. Seriously, if you’ve got a redemption arc, be sure you read this over first.


And those are some of my favorite writer things! If you’re a writer, what are a few of your favorite writer things? I’d love to hear about them – I always enjoy finding new things to check out! Be sure to drop a comment in the section below!

Have a great week everyone, and I’ll see you on Friday!

Leave a Reply

