Week In Review: Dec 9

It’s been a week.

Before I get started with what else is going on, I wanted to catch you up on the one major thing right now, since it kinda affects the goings-ons of the blog.

My laptop died last Friday night. I don’t know how it happened, but I haven’t been able to get it turned back on since then. Right now, the theory is that it’s a motherboard issue and that the motherboard will need to be replaced. It’s only a few months old, so I’ll be getting it fixed one way or another when I go home for winter break, but until then, I don’t have a laptop.

Good news is that my hard drive is intact and the student computer services office on campus was able to make a backup of all my files. I can’t access them (I did get a copy of my documents, but that’s it), but it’s good to know that they’re safe. (Also, that explains why there aren’t any fancy title images – I couldn’t make one).

For the past week(ish), I’ve been relying on the public desktop computers at the campus library and the laptops of my gracious friends, but as you can imagine, that still limits me as I don’t have immediate access to a computer. I have to make sure I use my computer time wisely so you might not see much of me on here as you’re used to. I’ll still try to do the Week in Review posts, but my normal Monday posts and any special posts (e.g. Beautiful People) may not be up until I get my computer fixed.

I’ll admit that it’s pretty stressful that this has happened right around finals week (and my blogiversary!), but hopefully my computer will be repaired soon. In the meantime, thanks for sticking with me and understanding if I don’t get to post as much.

Now with that out of the way, on to the rest of my week!

In school… I’m coming down the final stretch! This was my last week of classes, so all that’s left are my final exams and essays. I have two papers and two exams, which I don’t think will be too bad. Oh, and my group gave our persuasive speech on Wednesday, and it went really well!

Happy about… All of the Christmas gifts that I ordered last week arrived a few days ago, so I had the joy of handing them out to my friends. They all liked them (as far as I know), so it was nice to have that happy moment in the midst of all this craziness. And Destress Fest was fantastic last Saturday! A lot of people showed up for the Chick-Fil-A, and a good number of them stuck around for the other activities too. It was a great time!

Geeking out about… The Game Awards! It’s an awards show just like anything else, but there were a couple of really great moments that I saw. First of all, Nintendo premiered a new Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild trailer, which got me REALLY excited about the new game. Having watched the trailer and seen some gameplay, I’m really looking forward to exploring this new world (now I just need a new console…)

On a more serious note, the other cool thing about The Game Awards was when the Games for Impact award was given to the That Dragon, Cancer. Unfortunately, I have not played the game myself, but I’ve been following its story since it appeared on my radar a few months ago. It’s an autobiographical game created by Ryan Green and his wife Amy about their son Joel, who was diagnosed with cancer at a very young age. (You can read more about the game here). As someone who views video games as a unique art form and appreciates the element of faith included in the game, I was really happy to see that That Dragon, Cancer won the award. You can watch Ryan Green’s acceptance speech here.

Thankful for… computer science majors, very understanding professors, exam exemptions, great friends, public computers, Christmas music, Minds Matter, combat boots, and my blue scarf.

2 thoughts on “Week In Review: Dec 9

Leave a Reply

