5ish Christmas Covers

Around this time last year, I posted about my favorite original Christmas songs. It actually went out on Christmas day, since that was when I was still posting on Fridays, of course.

As a lover of Christmas music, I couldn’t resist the urge to do that again, except this year, I’ll be sharing a few of my favorite Christmas covers. These are songs that you’re probably familiar with in one way or another, though these covers might be a little different than what you’re used to. You’ve probably noticed that I love a variety of music, including what you might call “headbanger music.” I know this isn’t everyone’s favorite, so I’ll do my best to denote the genres with the song!

img_1688

Come Thou Long Expected Jesus

I actually thought this was an original song at first, since I’d never heard it before, but later on I learned that it is a Christmas hymn. I really like the lyrics, and this cover by Wolves At The Gate is epic. I realize that hardcore music might not be everyone’s cup of tea, but the song itself is still really great and I encourage you to look it up sometime!

Carol of the Bells

I couldn’t write Christmas music post without mentioning August Burns Red’s incredible instrumental cover of “Carol of the Bells.” Their Christmas album is amazing all around, but this one always takes the cake (aside from “Flurries,” which I mentioned last year).

12 Days of Christmas

Relient K’s cover is easily my favorite because really, what’s with the partridge in a pear tree?

O Come, O Come Emmanuel

This is one of my favorite Christmas songs! If you prefer something more traditional-sounding, House of Heroes has a beautiful cover of this song, complete with the amazing vocals I love them for.And the video is pretty great, so I’ll include that as well.

On the other hand, if you’re into a more metal approach to Christmas music, For Today’s cover of this song is fantastic.

Christmas, Baby Please Come Home

Now, I’m typically not a fan of pop Christmas music, but Anberlin’s version of this song has remained one of my favorites. This could very well be because I’m obsessed with Anberlin, but either way, it’s a great cover.

All I Want for Christmas is You

Originally, I though I’d limit myself to one cover per artist, but then I changed my mind because House of Heroes is amazing and so is their cover of “All I Want for Christmas is You.” Again, not a huge lover of Christmas pop songs, but this one won me over.

If you prefer something more electronic, The Jellyrox also has a nice cover of this song.


And those are a few of my favorite Christmas covers! There are of course a lot more that I like, but I tried to limit myself to my favorites, or else this blog post would go on forever.

What are some of your favorite Christmas covers? I’m always looking to enjoy new Christmas music, and I’d love to hear about what you enjoy in the comments!

Until next time!

3 thoughts on “5ish Christmas Covers

Leave a Reply

