1st Blogiversary Celebration!

With cupcakes! (Virtual cupcakes, that is).

A year ago today, I started up Maggie’s Musings as a place for me to write. I didn’t really have much of a plan in mind at the time, and to be honest, I still don’t. But over the past year, this blog has been a wonderful creative outlet for me, week in and week out.

I began this project mostly for myself, but since then, I’ve gained a sizeable following, so from the bottom of my heart, thank you for sticking around and keeping up with Maggie’s Musings! Whether you’ve been following for a few days or a few months, I’m glad you’re here.

Special shoutouts to my family for supporting me with every post (even when it was about totally random stuff, like bad book blurbs),  my friends (both “in real life” and on the internet) for their encouragement, and to my fellow bloggers for inspiring me (even if you didn’t realize it).

Now, on to the celebration!

As I mentioned not too long ago, I’ve been tossing around the idea of starting a YouTube channel. I still have no idea what I’m doing or what sort of videos I’ll make, but as part of my Blogiversary celebration, I went ahead and experimented with a video and uploaded it! You can check it out at this link or below.

I don’t know how often I’ll upload stuff, since videos take a lot time for me than blogging does, but I have a couple things that I want to do in the future! I’m sure I’ll share here when I post anything, but you can always subscribe to my channel too if you’d like.

In addition to the video, I also put out a blog post today about a few things I’ve learned about blogging in the past year. I can’t claim to be an expert just yet, but I have learned quite a few lessons since last December. Be sure to check that out as well!

Finally, before we get to the virtual cupcakes, I went through my WordPress stats and found my top posts from the past year, which I’ll link to below in case you missed anything. This is based on views, so it may not be 100% accurate, but it feels pretty close to me.

Merry Christmas! (Christmas music) – December 2015
Beautiful People #17 – May 2016
Book Blurb Blacklist – April 2016
Judging a Book by its Cover – November 2016
Goals for the New Year – January 2016


Okay, now it’s time for the cupcakes! (Yes, I did make all of these at one point or another. Well, my mom made the owl ones and the bookworm ones, because she’s awesome like that.)

So which cupcake did you choose? What’s been your favorite blog post from the past year? Thanks again for being a faithful reader of Maggie’s Musings, and here’s to another great year of blogging!

4 thoughts on “1st Blogiversary Celebration!

  1. Yay! Happy Blogiversary, Maggie! I love your video and subscribed to your channel. You have me wanting to try my hand at Youtube, which has always slightly terrified me.

    Also, I choose the vanilla cupcakes. Vanilla rules. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! YouTube is actually pretty terrifying and kinda overwhelming (my brain’s like “gotta be professional right from the start”) but once I got the basics figured out it wasn’t so bad. It was actually a lot of fun to try something new. Hopefully I’ll have more time to experiment in the future.

      And you can’t go wrong with vanilla!

      Like

Leave a Reply

