2016: Year In Review

Well, another year is coming to a close. On one hand, it feels like January was just yesterday, but on the other hand, it feels like 20 years have passed in these twelve months.

When I wrote my 2015 summary earlier this year, I had just started blogging. This year, however, with a year of blogging behind me, I’ve been writing more regular updates through my “Best Of” and “Week in Review” posts. Because of that, I’m going to keep my summary pretty much to-the-point, but I’ll link to other blog posts where I discuss the topics more in-depth.

I also really like lists, so get ready for that.

Favorite 5 Albums
Albums that were released this year, that is.

5) Air For Free – Relient K
Favorite songs: Bummin’, Local Construction, Mountaintop

4) COLORS – House of Heroes
Favorite songs: Colors Run, We Make Our Stars, Matador

3) Long Live The Rebels – Disciple
Favorite songs: First Love, Erase, Spinning

2) Types & ShadowsWolves At The Gate
Favorite songs: Asleep, War in the Time of Peace, Convalesce

1) Life Screams – Lacey Sturm
Favorite songs: Impossible, I’m Not Laughing, Vanity/Rot


Favorite 5 Books Read

5) Countdown by Deborah Wiles

4) Skies of Dripping Gold by Hannah Heath

3) I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest

2) Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

1) Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson


Favorite 5 Blog Posts
I’m proud of all my blog posts, but these are the ones that I’m most most proud of.

5) The Six Question Character Challenge
I just really like talking about my characters.

4) Home
Some musings about home, what it means, and where it is.

3) Top 5 Heroines / Top 5 Heroes
Is this cheating? No, because these two posts go together. I love lists, especially when they’re about books.

2) On My Desk
It’s amazing what you can learn about someone by what they keep on their desk. I, for example, have an obsession with unicorns.

1) Book Blurb Blacklist
Remember that time I completely destroyed YA fiction in a single blog post? This is that post.


Favorite Moments & Memories

My 18th Birthday
I got to spend the evening with my family, which was really nice. And my mom made this really awesome cake for me!

Traveling to Arizona
We visited the Grand Canyon, saw Route 66, stayed with some friends of my dad, and went to a ranch for dinner one night.

2016-06-10-032-prom-rpw
The RPW gang at prom

High School Graduation & Prom
I graduated high school and got to see a lot of my friends, some of them for the first time. That night I went to prom and had a blast, and was voted Prom Queen!

PokΓ©mon Go
All of my childhood dreams came true.

Starting College
I moved in at Messiah College to begin school there in August. I survived orientation week in spite of the forced socialization, and had a pretty great start to the semester!

2016-09-17-338-lacey-sturm
Lacey Sturm @ Uprise Fest

Uprise Fest 2016
I spent the weekend with my friend’s family and went to Uprise Festival in Shippensburg. I got to see a lot of my favorite bands like Wolves At The Gate, Disciple, RED, Lacey Sturm, and For Today.

Life Size Clue game at the library
My friends and I participated in a Life-Size Clue Game at out campus library one evening. We didn’t win any prizes, but we did solve the mystery!

Gingerbread Madness 2016
My Mom and I constructed our entry for the annual gingerbread house competition over Thanksgiving break. There was a lot of candy.

The Game Awards
Upcoming game The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild premiered a new trailer, and That Dragon, Cancer took home the Games for Impact award.

Surviving The First Semester
In spite of everything, I finished my first semester at Messiah with four A’s and one A-, so I’d say I’m doing pretty well.


Favorite Photos
I took a lot of pictures this year. Here are ten of my favorites:


2016 was definitely a crazy year for a lot of us, but it never hurts to remember the good parts of it. Thanks for the good memories, 2016!

How was your year? What are your favorite albums/books/moments from the year? Let me know in the comments!

Thanks for being here this year, dear readers! Happy new year!

Save

2 thoughts on “2016: Year In Review

  1. Put a huge smile on my face to see my short story in your top five. Thank you so much! I am honored.

    I love your pictures! The pink flower is my favorite. πŸ™‚ I’m glad your 2016 was awesome and am wishing you a blessed 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

