Goals for 2017

Around this time last year, I made a list of 5 goals I wanted to accomplish in 2016.

I’m ashamed to admit that I mostly forgot about those goals until a few weeks ago.

Even though I didn’t do so well with keeping up with my goals, I decided I’m going to take a look at them anyway. I did make progress in some areas, which I’m happy about. So before I get started setting new goals for this year, I wanted to evaluate my progress in 2016.

And now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for… my 2016 goals, graded.

1) Read 40 Books: B

I made it to 33/40 of my books, which is better than I did the year before. I really didn’t make a lot of time for reading when I started college in the fall, and that turned out to be detrimental to my goal. Even so, 33 books isn’t bad, so I’m giving myself a B on this one.

2) Do something with writing every day: C

This was an incredibly vague goal even by my standards. I’m not even sure how I could measure it. C is my best guess.

3) Publish something: D-

The only reason I’m not giving myself a lower grade on this one is because I did end up posting some of my writing here (like this memoir and the first chapter of my WIP), so even though I didn’t “publish” anything, I did share my writing on an outlet that honestly scared the heck out of me.

4) Try more things with photography: A-

I took a lot of photos this year, especially in the summer. I experimented with macro photography and portrait photos, as well as different visual effects and whatnot. I’m definitely proud of what I accomplished in this area.

5) Read my Bible every day: B+

For about 3/4 of the year, I was doing a pretty good job of keeping up with my Bible reading. Sadly, with early morning college classes I began to lose my routine and didn’t read as much as I should have. Even so, I finished reading the Psalms, which I was in the middle of doing last year, and I kept up for a good part of the year, which is definitely a lot of progress compared to where I was previously.


Perhaps I’m not quite where I wanted to be in terms of these goals, but I still think I’ve made some progress with each one. With that in mind, I’m making a new list of five goals for 2017.

1) Read 40 Books

I’m really determined to get it done this year. I’ve missed reading a lot, and I want to get back into it since there are so many books I want to read. 40 is my goal again!

You can follow my progress on Goodreads, if you’d like.

2) Keep up with daily Bible reading

I need to get back into the swing of things with my Bible reading. I know there will be days when I miss it, but I need to resume my routine. I was reading through Proverbs, but I lost track of that so I’ll either start over there or begin somewhere else in the Bible.

3) Take care of myself

This area has a couple of sub-goals, if you can call them that. I really want to start taking better care of myself, both physically and mentally. Some ways I plan to do this are:

  • Be more active – take at least 10,000 steps a day (tracked by FitBit)
  • Drink more water – 64 oz. a day (I can tell when I’m dehydrated, and it’s not fun)
  • Avoid the dessert bar in the dining hall like the plague
  • Take time for myself – at least do one fun and relaxing activity each day to avoid stress. When I get very stressed, I can feel it physically, and I’d like to avoid that.

4) Write every day

Or edit, or at least work on a writing project for a bit. Blogging does NOT count, nor do school projects. Though blogging is enjoyable for me, I want to make time to work on my more personal projects. I do want to keep up with blogging though, so I’m listing that as one of my sub-goals. I also want to at least participate in Camp NaNoWriMo or November NaNo.

5) Learn a new skill every month

I don’t know what these skills will be yet, but I’ll decide them month by month. I know I want to learn to cook a proper meal at some point, but that probably won’t happen until later this year. I’m still coming up with ideas of what to learn (basic coding and ASL are on the list too), so if you have any suggestions I’m open to them!


In 2017, I really want to make a stronger commitment to my goals, so in addition to setting new ones, I’ve come up with a system to measure it. Perhaps I’ve mentioned it before, but I have a bullet journal now, and one of the things I’ve decided to add to it is a goal tracker for each month.

Goals (2).JPG

As you can see, I have a row for each goal and a column for each day. If I complete the goal for the day, I color the box in appropriately. If I make progress towards one of my larger goals (for example, if I read or work on a blog post), I draw a circle in the box. If I don’t meet a goal for the day, it gets crossed out. The boxes that are outlined in black are days when goals HAVE to be met (e.g. in order to keep up with my reading, I have to read a book by January 9), and the boxes with lines drawn through them are days when I don’t have to work on that goal.

And just for fun, I created a soon-to-be-filled bookshelf for all my 2017 books on the next page. I can’t wait to start filling it in!

Goals (1).JPG


Do you like to set goals? If so, what are your goals for 2017! Any suggestions for what skills I should learn, books I should read, or where I should start with my daily devotions? I’m open to all ideas!

Have a great week everyone, and I’ll see you again on Friday!

4 thoughts on “Goals for 2017

Leave a Reply

