Week In Review – Jan 13

Happy Friday! Congrats on making it through another week! I hope all of you wonderful readers had a good week. Over here, there have been a few rough patches, but overall I’ve been doing pretty well.

By the way, in case you missed it, I wrote about INTJ Stereotypes in Fiction this past Monday. It’s all about personality types, so if you didn’t get the chance to read it earlier, now’s your chance!

And now on to the rest of my week…

In school… My Creative Writing class is going well. I’ve had a bit more work over this past week, since I’m writing a short story now and giving feedback to my workshop group daily, in addition to the regular textbook readings. I’m glad for the three-day weekend coming up so I don’t have to rush through everything at once.

Listening to… Mostly Memphis May Fire, though I just ordered Matty Mullins’s solo album on Amazon as well. I also heard that his new single “Unstoppable” is going to be on iTunes starting today, so I’m pretty excited for that (I haven’t heard it yet).

Going to… the gym! Since I only have one class for this term, I haven’t been doing as much walking as I normally would. I get kinda restless after sitting in class for three hours and then sitting at my desk for another two, so I’ve made a habit of going to the gym every evening before dinner. I just walk on the treadmill for an hour or so, but it helps me clera my head, and it feels good afterwards too.

Working on… My skill for this month is to practice my ASL fingerspelling. I’ve memorized the letters, but I have trouble signing them or understanding them quickly. I spend a couple minutes on this website every day, which has a system to practice interpreting fingerspelling. I’m getting better!

Reading… My friend lent me her copy of The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis, since I mentioned wanting to read that a while back. I haven’t gotten very far yet, I’ll admit, but I like it so far! I can see why everyone says it’s such a great book.

Writing… new character sheets for my more well-used characters. In the middle of a personal project, I noticed my character biography sheets were outdated, so I’ve been working on new ones. It’s an on-off project, since my class takes up a lot of writing time right now, but I’m slowly making progress. Here’s a part of one for a character you may be familiar with:

leslies-bio-header

Feeling… better than I was. I was a bit anxious earlier this week with all of the things that were going on, but things are looking up and I’m feeling better now.

Thankful for… phone calls with my family, warm weather, Memphis May Fire, my Scrabble lights, crazy college students who make me laugh, and my workshop group.

scrabble-lights


How was your week? Have you been reading any good books lately or listening to any new music? If you’re a student, have you started your second semester yet? How’s it going? I’d love to hear about it in the comments, so feel free to drop a note!

Have a great weekend, and I’ll see you on Monday!

2 thoughts on “Week In Review – Jan 13

  1. The Screwtape Letters is a great book. I’m so glad you’re reading it. It’s been years since I read it and I would really like to read it again.

    Fingerspelling is new to me but it makes sense. Keep at it. That’s probably the big step toward sign language – am I right? What a valuable skill!

    You are inspiring me talking about going to the gym. I need to do that again but I have to find one since my new health insurance does not cover the YMCA membership that I had been enjoying.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree, I’m really liking The Screwtape Letters so far. I’ll have to let you know what I think when I’m finished!
      Fingerspelling is the ASL alphabet, so it’s definitely helpful to know it well. I can remember the letters, but I have a hard time stringing them together fluidly, so that’s why I’m practicing.
      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

