The Great TBR Purge of 2017 – Part 2

Welcome back to another round of the Great TBR Purge of 2017! In case you missed it, last week I wrote about how since it’s my goal to read 40 books this year, I want to spend my time reading books I actually enjoy. With that in mind, I’m clearing out my to-be-read list on Goodreads and only keeping the books I’m actually interested in reading.

Last week, I wrote about 7 books that I found on the list, and this week I have 7 more! If you missed last week’s post, be sure to check it out first (or if you just want a recap. The second half of the list is below the cut!

8) Outside In by Maria V. Snyder

Why it’s on my TBR: This is a sequel to one of the first YA books I ever read, Inside Out. I read it ages and ages ago (my copy is dated by a Borders bookstore sticker that I can’t get off the back cover). I really enjoyed Inside Out, so I decided I’d try the sequel.

Why I haven’t read it yet: Because I HAVEN’T BEEN ABLE TO FIND IT ANYWHERE. I think I’ll just end up buying a copy on Amazon, since it’s been nearly impossible to find in any bookstore or library on this side of the universe. I really have no other excuse other than that it’s been hard to track down.

Will it survive? Yes, because I really liked Inside Out, and even though it’s been years since I read it, I still want to read its sequel if for no other reason than nostalgia.

9) The Program by Suzanne Youngprogram

Why it’s on my TBR: I guess this is one of the remaining books from my “READ ALL THE DYSTOPIAN” phase. I don’t really remember adding this to my list.

Why I haven’t read it yet: It was never really at the top of the list – in fact, I’d forgotten about it until now as I was putting this list together.

Will it survive? No. Re-reading the synopsis, I don’t understand how it made the list in the first place. Granted, this is only based on a short blurb, but I don’t like the way the book seems to present suicide and depression. I could be wrong in my assumptions, but I’d rather not give this book any of my time.

10) Numbers by Rachel Ward

Why it’s on my TBR: Like The Program, I think this is another remnant of my dystopian-loving days. I remember finding it when I was at a new library looking at their rather extensive YA collection, and this one looked moderately interesting. I added it to the list and promptly forgot about it.

Why I haven’t read it yet: Like I said, it was buried under a mountain of much more interesting books. Every time I went back to that library, I always found something that intrigued me more.

Will it survive? No. It doesn’t interest me anymore, and the Goodreads blurb is horribly written. At this point, if I’m going to read any dystopian sci-fi adventures, it will have to be a pretty darn good one.

11) Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Why it’s on my TBR: I watched the film adaptation a few years back without knowing anything about the book, and I enjoyed it, so I thought I’d give the original a shot.

Why I haven’t read it yet: It was one of those things where I always meant to read it, but I always forgot about it when it came time to visit the library. Plus, it’s hard for me to get interested in full-on sci-fi novels. I’m not entirely sure why.

Will it survive? Yes. My interest has recently been renewed upon learning from a friend that most people consider Ender, the protagonist, an INTJ. If you read my post concerning INTJs in fiction, you’ll know that this idea of an INTJ protagonist is VERY EXCITING for me, and I’ll take all of that I can get.

heroes12) Rise of the Heroes by Andy Briggs

Why it’s on my TBR: I have no idea. Why did 15-year-old me think this was a good idea to read? I must have seen it at the library, been curious about it, and shelved it to look at more later.

Why I haven’t read it yet: I have a feeling that every time I looked at it on my TBR, I wasn’t interested in it, but I never actually wanted to put in the effort to take it off the shelf.

Will it survive? No way. There are plenty of better superhero books out there, and this one just doesn’t look like it’s worth my time.

13) Gone by Michael Grantgone

Why it’s on my TBR: I know I saw this at a Barnes & Noble one day and I was mildly intrigued, but I don’t know what ever possessed me to add it to the TBR. Maybe that dystopian phase I mentioned earlier.

Why I haven’t read it yet: This is another book I probably added and promptly forgot about at the bottom of my TBR. Plus, it was never one of those books that I was absolutely dying to read.

Will it survive? No. Not only does it look boring to me, but I also don’t really like supernatural fiction. Plus, it’s massive. 506 pages for a book series I’m not even invested in yet? No way.

14) The Freedom Writers Diary by Erin Gruwell & The Freedom Writers

Why it’s on my TBR: I saw part of the film adaptation once a few years ago when I was sick and I didn’t feel like doing anything other than lay on the sofa. I was still young-ish at the time, so I never picked up the book until I found it at a yard sale a year or two ago.

Why I haven’t read it yet: I have no excuses. I own the book, for crying out loud, why haven’t I read it yet?

Will it survive? Yes, partly because I own it and I’ll likely read it at some point, but also because I really want to read it. And like I said, I have no excuses, so I really should get to it sometime soon.


Readers, have you tried any of these books? What did you think about them? Should I reconsider my position on any of them? Leave a comment below, I’d be happy to have a conversation with you!

Thanks for reading, and I’ll see you next time!

 

6 thoughts on “The Great TBR Purge of 2017 – Part 2

    • Thanks! I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s thought that about Gone. I was reading some reviews, and it seemed like a lot of people enjoyed it, so I’m glad I’m not alone in my opinion.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I was going to read The Program too! It’s on my Want to Read list on Goodreads, but now I honestly don’t think I want to either. I completely forgot it was on there, but now I took it off. I’ve heard of Gone, but never thought of reading it. 506 pages is way too long for the first book though, I’m surprised it’s so long. Great post, Maggie!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Paige! The Program looked so promising until I took a closer look at it – not something I’m interested in! And yeah, Gone is way too long for the first book in a series. Not a chance!

      Thanks for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

