Recipe for a Happy Bookworm – A Poem

As I mentioned a while back, I took a creative writing class at my school in January! Since things are finally wrapped up with that, I thought I’d share one of the pieces I wrote for that class, a poem called “Recipe for a Happy Bookworm.”

This poem came out of an idea I had on the first day of class about formatting a poem like a recipe. It didn’t necessarily turn out as formatted as I thought it might, but the idea stuck and I decided to write about the things that make bookworms happy. At first, it was a free verse poem, but since I apparently didn’t find poetry hard enough already (that was sarcasm), I decided to write it in meter (iambic trimeter, to be exact). It was a challenge, but eventually I managed to fit it in meter aside from a few anomalies.

Enjoy!

Recipe for a Happy Bookworm

Step One: A book to add,
We ask you choose with care.
Be certain it is fresh,
not stale, clichéd, or tasteless.

Step Two: To add a cup
of any warm drink, such
As coffee, cocoa, tea –
We plea you’d gently pour.

Step Three: A second bowl –
You’ll mix a cozy blanket,
Plush pillows, sweatpants soft,
a lamp that’s glowing bright.

(Some chefs like to include
The silence in this mix,
Though others disagree.
The choice is up to you.)

Step Four: Combine bowls. Stir.
To garnish, slippers work,
a purring kitten, or
A crackling fire, too.


Thanks for stopping by and reading, and I’ll see you on Friday!

Leave a Reply

