Week In Review – Feb 10

Happy Friday, everyone! I hope you had a great week! To be honest, I’m pretty tired as I’m writing this, so I’m just gonna cut to the chase and get into the main blog post. Click the jump to read on!

In school… I’m busy, not any more or less so than last semester, but there’s still a lot going on. I have my first essay, albeit a shorter one, due next Thursday, and I’ve been doing work towards one of two major research papers I have to write this semester. That’s right, two. For the same class. I can’t really say I know how on earth I’m going to get them done, but I just gotta keep working at it I guess. On the bright side, we had a snowstorm yesterday and because of it, we had a 2-hour delay at school, so that was nice! I got to spend the morning working on projects and other things, which worked out well for me.

Watching… Lots of videos! There are a couple I want to share, the first one being “S*uff Christian College Kids Say.” I actually saw this a few weeks ago, but I forgot to share it at the time. As someone who goes to a Christian college, most of these are pretty much true, and they’re all hilarious. Definitely worth checking out! I also enjoyed this video from Blimey Cow, “Five Easy Ways to Make Someone’s Day.” It actually has some great ideas for some random acts of kindness, so it’s also worth taking a look at.

Reading… I finished Forever Red a few days ago, and I didn’t like it. To be honest, I was really hoping that I’d love it, because it seemed like such a great idea, but the execution was poor. The characters were boring, there were editing mistakes, and the romantic subplot was cheesier than a bag of Cheetos. I guess it was relying on its relation to Marvel in order to sell, because really, I can’t say I’d recommend it. But at least I added another book to my list for the year!

In my life… On Tuesday night, the Humanities department at my school hosted a speaker who had been an English and Creative Writing major in college, and is now working as a content developer for Instagram. She talked from probably about half an hour about what content developers do, and why it’s a great career path for humanities students. As someone who’s interested in social media, I thought it was really interesting! It was cool to get a look at one of the many opportunities for English majors, especially since people are always asking me what on earth I plan to do after college.

On Wednesday night, Minds Matter had its first meeting of the semester! I’m really excited for all of the stuff we’re going to be doing over the next few months. There are a lot of great things coming up, and I can’t wait to get started! It’s going to be a great semester.

Looking forward to… Tonight I’m going to a game night hosted by a group on campus called the Order of the Falcon (the Falcons being our school mascot). I call them the geek club (affectionately so, as I am also a geek), but anyway, tomorrow night they’re hosting an even with board games and video games, so I’m really looking forward to that!

Thankful for… Superbowl LI, seeing Doctor Strange with friends, tea, hot chocolate, social media, podcasts, ASL club, and Minds Matter.


How was your week? Anything exciting going on with you? I’d love to hear about it in the comments below!

Enjoy your weekend, and I’ll see you on Monday!

2 thoughts on “Week In Review – Feb 10

Leave a Reply

