Freestyle Writing Challenge

Hey, look who got tagged in something! My friend Faith at Genuine Perplexities tagged me in the Freestyle Writing Challenge, and I’m very excited about it!

Basically, this challenge involves taking a prompt, setting a timer for 5 to 10 minutes, and writing as much as you can without editing. Then, you’ll put it in your own blog post for all to see! It doesn’t matter if it’s good or not, it’s more about the practice of writing.

Want to see how it works? Faith gave me the prompt if “Laughter,” so you can read what I wrote by reading on!

Laughter

It’s a wonderful sound when you can get a hold of it. It sounds like a warm summer day, if summer days made noise. I guess they do, in a way. But this metaphor is getting out of hand.

We’re sitting on the bench outside of the ice cream shop. I got a strawberry milkshake. You got 2 scoops of chocolate ice cream in a cone, and it’s dripping onto your hand. You turn your hand to lick it off, and then it starts dripping out of the other side. Eventually you give up and just let the ice cream make a mess.

“I’ll be finished soon, anyway,” You say.

“Are you sure you don’t want me to get a napkin or something?” I ask.

“Nah. It’ll just stuck to my hand, after all.” You take another lick of your ice cream cone.

The sun is beating down on the pavement, and I can see the chocolate ice cream still dripping down, over your hand and onto the sidewalk, forming a small puddle. Your face is covered in it, like a toddler eating a piece of cake on their first birthday.

Your eyebrows scrunch together. “What’re you looking at?”

“See for yourself.” I take out my phone and hand it to you. Your eyes light up as soon as you see your reflection in the screen.

And you laugh.

I close my eyes and let the sound wash over me like ocean waves. I’ve heard music before, of course, but nothing has ever sounded as wonderful as this. Music is great, but it doesn’t express the joy I hear in your laughter. Guitar riffs and drums can’t express the same love of life I hear in your laughter. It’s the best sound in the world.

You finish your ice cream cone and go inside to wash your hands.

“Ready to go?” You ask when you come back out. Your smile is brighter than the sun.

“Yeah.” I toss the empty cup in the trash can and follow you as your run down the street, your laughter carried by the wind.

I wrote 350 words in 10 minutes.


For this challenge, I’m tagging:

Ready for your prompt? Don’t look at it until you’re ready to write!

3…

2…

1…

Your prompt is: Lightning

If you join in on the challenge, I’d love to see what you do with the prompt! Feel free to link to your post in the comments below.

See you next time!

freestyle-writing-challenge

Leave a Reply

