Week In Review – March 17

Welcome to Friday! I hope that everyone had a good week this week. Me? I’ve been enjoying Spring Break at home (though it’s more like winter break here with all the snow we got this week).

This week, I wrote a tutorial for how I make the title images for my blog posts, so if you’re a fellow blogger, check it out! Of course, you can deviate from my methods – I just wanted to use it as a starting point.

And as for the rest of the week…

Song of the week: Today marks the official release of As We Ascend’s debut album, Farewell to Midnight, so enjoy this single from them!

Reading… This week, I read The Freedom Writers Diary, which, if you remember, was one of the books I talked about during my TBR purge. I’m so glad I took the time to read it! It was a wonderful book, and I definitely recommend it. 5/5 stars for sure. I also started reading The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe for the first time this week (I love digital libraries), and though I haven’t gotten far, I’m enjoying it a lot! And for the writers out there, I read this blog post from S.M. Metzler about story prompts and ideas, so if you need inspiration (perhaps for Camp NaNoWriMo…), check it out!

Watching… I originally wasn’t going to share this video, but a certain… surprise towards the end convinced me to. Skillet released their music video for “Back From the Dead” this week, and I thought it was pretty good. It continues the story from the “Monster” music video, so if you haven’t seen that, it’s worth watching that video first. Also, was Awake really released 8 years ago? I can’t make myself believe it.

Playing… I didn’t mention this last week, but I recently started playing Dual Destinies, another game in the Ace Attorney franchise. I just finished the second case a few days ago, and I really like it! Some aspects took some getting used to, like the new voices for all of the characters (you’d be surprised by how off-putting that was), but I enjoy the full cutscenes. This installment does guide the gameplay a little more, but it’s less handhold-y and more to save time. There were a lot of times in the past games when I’d end up going in circles because I couldn’t figure out what to do next, so this helps a lot.

I also revived some childhood nostalgia by installing RollerCoaster Tycoon on my computer. My family loved these games when I was young, but I haven’t played it in ages. Even though it’s been years, these games still hold up as entertaining and fun.

RCT

Excited about… I know I’ve been talking about it a lot, but I FINALLY get to see Memphis May Fire tonight! I’m picking up my brother from school and we’ll be driving to the show soon after. I can’t wait to tell you about it!

Personally… I’ve had a fairly busy spring break, but not in a bad way. I got ahead on some blogging stuff, which I’ve been meaning to do for a while. I also made progress on some other projects that I haven’t had as much time to work on the last few weeks. I got to spend time with my family, too – I saw my grandparents a few times over the last week, and with the snowstorm on Tuesday, my whole family was home together. Yesterday, my mom and I spent the day together, going out for lunch and going out shopping, which was a lot of fun too. Oh, and my cousins are coming this weekend, so that should be fun too!

I also did a puzzle over the last two days! I bought it a while ago at GameStop, and just now had the time to put it together. I had a lot of help from my mom, but it was very satisfying to finally have it done.

puzzle

Thankful for… s’mores, puzzles, a warm home, RollerCoaster Tycoon, neighbors with snowblowers, time with my family, haircuts, and anyone who has ever uploaded soundtrack loops on YouTube.


How was your week? Did you get hit with the snowstorm? Any fun plans for the weekend? I’d love to hear about it in the comments, so drop down there and say hi!

One last thing before you go – today is the last day I’m collecting responses for my Introverts and Extroverts survey, so if you have 10 minutes or so to spare, I’d love to have your input! You can learn more about the survey and take it using this link.

Have a great weekend, and I’ll see you on Monday!

Leave a Reply

