My Favorite YouTube Channels

If you visited YouTube in its infancy, chances are, you wouldn’t have been very impressed. The website looked like others from the mid 2000s, which is to say, not very pretty by today’s standards. Who would’ve thought it’d become the internet giant it is today?

Like it or not, YouTube has become a huge part of entertainment. Instead of following TV shows, we subscribe to YouTube channels about our favorite things. And unlike TV, which is often limited in terms of genre or time – as in, you can only watch certain shows at certain times – YouTube is accessible anywhere at anytime.

Like many other people, there are a handful of YouTube channels that I follow (more or less). This week, I wanted to share a few of my favorites. Maybe you’ve heard of them, maybe not. But I hope you’ll find something new that interests you, and when you’re done reading, I’d love to hear about your favorites too!

Click below to keep reading!

BlimeyCow
Genre: Comedy and some other stuff
Featured Videos: I Pledge Blind Allegiance, 25 Signs You Listened to Christian Music Growing Up, Making Mistakes Makes You an Idiot

blimeycowLike many, many other viewers, I discovered BlimeyCow through the original “7 Lies About Homeschoolers” video when one of my fellow cyberschoolers shared it online. I’ve been subscribed to them ever since, and I really enjoy their style of humor. It’s funny, a little bit sarcastic, but always with a good point to it (if you’re paying attention). If you like their Messy Mondays videos (I’ve linked to a few above), you should also check out the on/off series Jordan’s Messyges, a sarcastic question-and-answer show, and Brother Brother Time, a mockumentary style series.

SayGoodnightKevin
Genre: Comedy, Movies, Movie Reviews
Featured Videos: God’s Not Dead review, Fireproof review, “MySpace” music video commentary

SayGoodnightKevin, hosted by Kevin McCreary, specializes in movie reviews, particularly in the genre of Christian movies. I always enjoy hearing his opinion on these movies, especially since I tend to get them shoved down my throat by the film companies (“support this because IT’S CHRISTIAAAAAAAAAN”). And again, the sarcastic humor is strong with this channel. Definitely worth watching if you have some time on your hands.

Katie Gregoire
Genre: Vlogging
Featured Videos: How to be a “Christian Instagram Girl”, Christian Romance Novels, Christian social media rant

I discovered Katie’s channel through Jordan Taylor of BlimeyCow fame, and I really enjoyed what she had to say. She’s very honest with her audience, and while I don’t particularly care for relationship advice, her videos on that subject are always excellent (no nonsense here, friends). She’s also Canadian and likes Captain America, so bonus points for that.

Game Theory
Genre: Gaming
Featured Videos: Nintendo’s Secret Plan for the Switch, Super Smash Bros. Tragic Hidden Lore, Zelda Rupees are REAL?!?

rupeeI bet you were wondering where the geekiness was in this list, well HERE IT IS. As the name suggests, Game Theory is all about theories on video games, everything from how tall Mario actually us to how much a Rupee in the Legend of Zelda series is actually worth. Some are more physics-y, while others lean towards psychological theories, so there’s really something for everyone. If you’re up for some mind-blowing ideas about your favorite games, this is definitely worth your time.

To be clear, I will point out that this channel does contain some crude humor/references and inappropriate language. Though it’s nothing that would be out of place in a PG-13 movie, it’s not the type of humor I agree with, so please don’t think I’m promoting it by sharing this channel. The videos are still interesting, just be careful.

John Crist
Genre: Comedy
Featured Videos: Church Hunters, Millennial International, How It’s Made: Christian Music

John Crist is a comedian, but he also runs a YouTube channel where he posts humorous sketches and other videos. As a Christian (CHRISTIAAAAAAAN), he sometimes pokes fun at Christian pop culture, which is always entertaining. If you’re in the mood for some satire, check out some of his videos!

Adler Davidson
Genre: Music, Comedy
Featured Videos: My Love is Conditional For You, Internet Famous, 5 Steps to Being a Gentleman

To be honest, I’m a little iffy on how to describe Adler’s channel, since there’s a LOT going on here. The best I can describe it is satire, ridiculousness, and lots of laughing. There’s also a lot of jokes involving YouTube and internet culture, which are always the best (the internet is a crazy place, and needs to be laughed at more).

HeroMonsterPiano
Genre: Music
Featured Videos: Disciple “Erase” cover, Wind Waker Movement, Skillet “Sick of It” cover

In addition to my mild obsession with video game soundtracks, I also really enjoy piano covers of my favorite songs! HeroMonsterPiano posts really awesome covers of songs from bands like Skillet, Disciple, RED, and Thousand Foot Krutch, and he also did a Legend of Zelda cover a while back. I really enjoy the covers he puts out, they’re always amazing.


Of course, there are plenty of other interesting YouTube channels out there, and there are a lot of others that I enjoy too. This is just a small sampling of the channels I enjoy, so perhaps one day I’ll have to make a continuation. But until that day, what are some of your favorite YouTube channels? Did I include any of your favorites, or do you enjoy something else entirely? Let me know in the comments – I’m always looking for something new to try!

Have a great week everyone! Until next time!

Leave a Reply

