Week In Review – May 5

Welcome to Friday everyone!

There’s been a lot going on these past two weeks, so instead of my regular WIR post format, I’m going to write this one a little differently. I have a few things I specifically want to talk about today, so this is going to be more free-form without the typical structure.

But before I get started, in case you missed it, I posted about Good vs. Evil stories this past Monday. I wrote this post a while back as a “backup” in case there was ever a time when I couldn’t get a Monday post written, but it also happened to be rather fitting for this week. But either way, I’d love it if you’d stop over and read it later!

As for the rest of the week…

This week begins finals week at my school, which is a bit crazy, but it also means the semester’s almost over! I actually don’t have a lot of exams, just one that’s open-note for my computers class, so I don’t have much to worry about there. The biggest thing right now is to finish up my English research paper, but it really just needs some editing for conciseness and a few other minor changes.

Oh, remember that website I kept mentioning a while back? It’s finally finished! I wrapped it up and turned it in last week, so if you’d like, you can check it out online here. Perhaps I’ll go back and make some changes one day, but for now, I really like the way it turned out.

Aside from editing my research paper, today I’m also celebrating my birthday! I’m 19 today, which I suppose is pretty exciting. I mean, 19’s kind of a weird number, but birthdays are always fun, so we have that. In terms of celebrations, I’m not really doing anything – I might try to catch the new Guardians of the Galaxy sequel this weekend, and I’m sure I’ll do something with my family when I go home, but for now, I’m just happy to have a free day to celebrate.

Now to switch gears for a few minutes – I mentioned last week in my non-WIR post that there was some stuff going on in my life that meant I couldn’t post like I normally do. I try to be honest with all of you lovely readers (within reason), so I write about this not because I feel like I owe you an explanation, but because I want to be real with you, many of whom I consider friends.

2016-03-27  001 Cereal Box PuzzleLast Wednesday, my grandma went home to be with the Lord after a long battle with cancer. I’ve talked about my grandparents on my blog many times before, and I am very close to both of them. My family has always lived near them, so I had the privilege of being able to know them while I was growing up. Even as I grew older, my Grandma and I spent a lot of time together, going shopping for birthday gifts, baking Christmas cookies, putting puzzles together, and so many other things. She was a wonderful woman and I admire her strength, her selflessness, her kindness, and so much more. I loved her very much, and I miss her dearly.

So yes, it’s been a hard week. It’s hard writing this post. But I know Grandma is in Heaven now, free of pain and sickness. And I know I’ll see her again one day. In spite of the sadness, I’m thankful for this hope, for the good memories that I have, and the many years I was able to spend with her.

Today, I’m just reminding myself that it’s okay to celebrate good things even when circumstances are a little sad. I’m allowed to be happy and have a good time on my birthday, and I know Grandma wouldn’t want me to put my life on hold because of this. It’s all right to enjoy the happy moments.

As I wrap things up, I want to leave you with this song. I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately, and it’s helped me immensely. Death be not proud – what are you boasting for?

Thank you all for being such kind and wonderful people. Even if you’re not reading or commenting every week, just knowing there are people who read my blog and like listening to my thoughts makes me smile, so thank you. I wish you all the best with whatever lies ahead, and if there’s anything I can do to pray for you or keep you in my thoughts, let me know. I’m always willing to listen!

Thank you,
Maggie

 

3 thoughts on “Week In Review – May 5

Leave a Reply

