19 Things I Want To Do

Guess what? I’m 19 now! I celebrated my birthday this past Friday (May 5) which was pretty exciting!

Anyway, last year I celebrated my birthday by sharing 18 Facts About Me, and this year, I’m going to do something similar. The problem is, 19 is such an odd number – it’s a prime number, so it’s a bit strange to use it in blog posts. I mean, who ever heard of a list with exactly 19 items? It just sounds weird to me, but I decided to go with it anyway and make a list of 19 Things I Want To Do. The twist? I want to do these things before I turn 29 – ten years!

Now, I’m not setting these as huge goals or things I’m gonna make myself anxious over, but there are a lot of cool things I’d like to do in my life, and I decided to finally put them together in a list. Will I accomplish all of them? Probably not. But it’s fun to dream and have things to look forward to!

Without further ado: 19 Things I Want To Do In The Next 10 years!

1) Travel out of the country

Technically I’ve been to Canada to see Niagara Falls, but I want to actually travel and visit somewhere for a few days or weeks. I’d love to go to Canada again, or England, or maybe France or somewhere else! There are so many cool places to go in the world, I just want to visit them all!

2) Survive college

Because the college life is a ROUGH life, and survival is important. Hopefully I don’t get helplessly buried under papers.

IMG_4813

3) Publish something

It doesn’t matter what I publish or where it’s published, I just want to publish something! Maybe a short story or a book, or maybe an article for my school magazine, or something like that.

4) Read 500 total books

According to GoodReads, I’ve read 273 books in my lifetime (which isn’t entirely true since that doesn’t count everything I read as a child but anyway). That leaves me with 227 more books to read, or about 23 a year if I want to reach my goal. Not too daunting, but you never know…

2016-04-21 002 Bookshelf

5) Go on a road trip across the country

I’ve always wanted to go on a road trip and visit a bunch of the different states, so this is definitely something I’d like to do someday soon! Maybe not all the way across the country, but I’d like to get be able to go and visit a lot of different places

IMG_4628

6) Complete every main series Zelda game

By main series, I mean all of the games in the official Zelda timeline, with the exception of Four Swords (unless I can find someone to play it with me). So far, I’ve completed Skyward Sword, The Wind Waker, and Spirit Tracks, but there are still plenty to go!

7) Be “fluent” in ASL

By “fluent,” I mean I can hold a conversation without hesitating or making the other person repeat themselves. I do okay now, but I know I still have a lot to learn, so I want to keep practicing.

8) Learn to play a new sport or some kind of physical activity

I’ve thought about trying volleyball or some other sport, or maybe just something like rollerblading (I know how to, but I could always be better and do it more!) I want to find a physical activity I can do often and that I enjoy.

9) Make a short film

I’ve always been fascinating by videos, and while I don’t think I’m going to become a filmmaker anytime soon, I want to make some kind of short video that tells a coherent story and isn’t just my friends and I being ridiculous.

10) Meet Lacey Sturm

I’ve seen Lacey Sturm in concert a few times now, but I think it’d be awesome to meet her in person, even if for a few minutes. She seems like such a cool person to get to talk to, and I’d love to meet her!

2016-09-17 363 Lacey Sturm

11) Visit the Library of Congress

What book lover doesn’t want to visit the largest library in the United States? I’d just love to spend some time there, looking at all the different books for fun.

12) Watch every movie in the Marvel Cinematic Universe

There are many movies in this universe, but if I work on catching up now, I shouldn’t get too far behind. Granted, some of the movies look kind of lame, but I’d really like to check that off my list someday.

13) Crochet or Knit something

I’ve never quite been able to get the hang of making anything with yarn, but I’d love to actually dedicate some time to learning someday. I think it’d be cool to wear a hat that I made myself, but perhaps I’ll just have to stick to making stuff like washcloths.

14) Learn to play a song on an instrument

I’ve never had any type of musical ability, but I think if I could at least learn one song on something that isn’t an ocarina, I’d feel pretty accomplished.

15) Participate in a Dungeons & Dragons campaign

My friend Faith introduced me to D&D at the beginning of the school year, but unfortunately I was never able to join a campaign of any sort. I’d really like to try one in the future though, since it looks like a lot of fun.

2016-10-05 002 Dice

16) Read the entire Bible all the way through

From cover to cover. I’ve never actually done it with both the Old and New Testaments, so I’d like to.

17) Fill a Bullet Journal

I started bullet journaling last year, and as it turns out, I really enjoy it! I think it’d be cool to have a journal filled all the way through.

18) Catch Em All

At the time of this writing, there are over 800 Pokemon in existence. Crazy, right? Is it really possible for one person to “Catch em all”? I don’t know. I’d probably approach it generation by generation using separate games, since I’ve never actually transferred Pokemon past Gen IV, but I really think I could do it if I put my mind to it.

19) Learn how to plan & prepare an actual meal

Because I think this is an important skill to have, and all I know how to cook right now are cupcakes, grilled cheese sandwiches, and anything that comes in a box or a can.


What are some things that you want to do in your life? Anything similar to my list? They can be silly or serious! I’d love to hear about some of the things you want to do.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

