Week In Review – May 12

Welcome to Friday!

I’m back with a regular WIR post this week, finally. We have a lot to catch up on this week, but I’ll try to keep this post at a reasonable length. No promises, though…

Also, I know that normally I summarize my month goals at the end of each month, but with everything that happened over the past two weeks, I didn’t really get a chance. Without going into too much detail, I think I did pretty well with my goals in April, especially with my skill-related goals. Hopefully I can keep that up!

In case you missed it, this week I wrote a list of 19 Things I Want To Do (In The Next 10 Years). I guess in a way it’s like a bucket list, but hopefully I’ll be able to accomplish some of these things before I turn 29. Especially #2.

Now, for all of that catching up…

Song of the Week
I’ve been hearing this song a lot on RadioU lately, and I really like it!

Internet Round-Up

School… is finished! I took my last exam this past Monday, and so I’m finally all done! I can’t believe it went by so quickly, honestly, even though there were some weeks I thought would never end. Looking back at the things I did this semester, I’m really satisfied with the way my website for my computers class turned out, and I’m especially proud of my English research paper. The paper was about the stigma of mental health and Christianity, which is something I’m especially passionate about, and as of right now, it’s one of my favorite things I’ve written this year.

I will be taking an online summer class over the next few months too, so we’ll see how that goes!

Reading… a lot of things! I read Take the Key and Lock Her Up by Ally Carter a week or so ago. It’s the final book in her Embassy Row trilogy, and though that series isn’t my favorite of hers, I did enjoy it. I also read Dragon Slippers by Jessica Day George, and I really liked that a lot! It was a fun book that subverts a lot of fantasy cliches, so that was a great read.dragon slippers

Writing… I haven’t touched my Camp NaNo story since April, sadly, but I have been doing some other writing in my spare time! It’s mostly just pursuing the random ideas I have, nothing too intense, but I’m hoping to get back to my Camp NaNo project soon.

Working on… A couple of different projects! I’m still trying to learn ASL, and I think it’s going better than it was before! I’m also using Duolingo to practice French (almost) every day, just so that I don’t lose anything I learned before the fall semester. I started a new coding project as well. It’s supposed to be a website for my “portfolio,” just a place where people can view work I’ve done, like photography and writing. I probably won’t put it on the internet, since that would cost money to buy a domain, but it’s good practice, and I’m learning many new things!

portfolio site
One of the pages on the website I’m working on.

Watching… Well, Kiara convinced me to start watching Avatar: The Last Airbender, and I kinda maybe definitely got sucked into another black hole of TV shows. Oops. I gotta say though, even though it’s considered a “children’s cartoon,” the show is very fascinating and does very well with a lot of important storytelling elements.

Looking forward to… I’m getting a haircut (hopefully) on Tuesday, and while that doesn’t sound exciting, I’m really looking forward to it. I don’t like it when my hair gets long! I also have a job interview on Wednesday, which is both exciting and nerve-wracking, but I’m hoping it will go well. Other than that, I’m just hoping to relax for a little while before things get too crazy again!

Thankful for… my professors, my friends, free time, smoothies, movie nights, technology for long distance communication, and my wonderful readers.


How was your week? What have you been reading, listening to, or watching? Any exciting plans for the weekend? I’d love to hear about them in the comments!

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

