Baking Adventures: Raspberry Lemonade Cupcakes

I like baking. Have I talked about that before? I can’t cook an actual proper meal to save my life, but I do love baking, especially when it comes to cupcakes. Although I don’t do it as often as I used to, just because of school and life stuff, I still enjoy getting out the mixer every once in a while.

I’ve wanted to share some cupcakes on my blog for some time now, and now that I’m finally home from school, I had access to a proper kitchen. And with summer being just around the corner, I thought it’d be appropriate to share some raspberry lemonade cupcakes! That wasn’t entirely my decision – I used a Twitter poll to see what people were most interested in – but these were definitely the perfect cupcakes for the season, and they were a lot of fun to make!

The cupcakes and frosting were all made from scratch, although I didn’t create the recipe myself. I adapted the cake recipe from an cupcake recipe book (if you love baking, this is definitely worth checking out), and the recipe for the frosting comes from Wilton, the baking company. I’ll be sharing everything below, but I wanted to give credit where credit is due.

Are you ready to get baking? Grab your apron and mixing bowls and let’s get started!

All in all, it took me about 3 hours to make everything, although it probably will be faster if you have everything you need ready beforehand and you know what you’re doing. Also, it’ll go faster if you’re not stopping every five minutes to take photos like I was.

Lemon Cupcakes (Makes 12)

You will need:

IMG_4876

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened (you can do this by putting it in the microwave for ~10 seconds)
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • Grated rind of 1 lemon (I used a cheese grater, but there are other ways to do this too)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

To make:

1) Preheat oven to 350°F (180°C)

2) Combine flour, baking powder, and salt in a bowl. Stir and set aside.

IMG_4864

3) In a new bowl, mix the butter, sugar, and lemon rind, either stirring by hand or using an electric mixer.

4) Gradually add the 2 beaten eggs into the mixture, mixing completely between each addition. It doesn’t have to be exact, but about a tablespoon for each addition works.

5) Mix in the vanilla extract.

6) Add the flour mixture to the other bowl gradually, stirring by hand between additions (this prevents you from over-beating). Take your time and don’t add too much at once.

7) Add milk and stir by hand.

IMG_4871

8) Fill the cupcake liners about 2/3 full. doesn’t need to be exact, but this will help you evenly distribute the batter.

IMG_4872

9) Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes (mine were closer to 20). You can check if the cupcakes are done by lightly tapping the top of the cupcake – if it doesn’t dip in the middle, it’s done!

cupcakes

10) Let cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then transfer to a wire cooling rack. Let the cupcakes cool completely (trust me, you don’t want to put frosting on warm cupcakes, it slides right off). 30 minutes, if not more, is an adequate amount of time.


Optional Lemon Syrup

If you want your cupcakes to have a little extra lemon in them, you can add this easy syrup.

You will need:

IMG_4877

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • Juice from 1 lemon (you can use the lemon from earlier!)

To make:

1) Preheat a saucepan on the stove using a low temperature.

2) Add the sugar and lemon juice

3) Stir gently until the sugar is dissolved and transfer to a separate bowl*.

IMG_4880

4) Once the cupcakes are out of the oven, use a toothpick or skewer to poke holes in the tops of the cupcakes. Brush the syrup over the holes using a spoon or brush (be careful with the spoon, it can get messy).

IMG_4881

* This stuff is crazy sticky, so wash out your pan, bowls, etc ASAP. And wipe down the counter if you’re prone to making messes like I am.


Raspberry Buttercream Frosting (Makes 12ish)

You will need:

IMG_4885

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 3-4 cups powdered (confectioner’s) sugar (I used closer to 4 because I like my frosting stiff)
  • 1/4 cup seedless raspberry jam**
  • Pink food coloring (optional)
  • Milk (optional)

To make:

1) Mix butter and jam together using an electric mixer (or by hand, if you really want to)***

IMG_4887

2) Gradually add the powdered sugar to the desired consistency. More sugar = stiffer frosting, which is good if you plan on piping the frosting onto the cupcakes

3) Milk can be added to thin the frosting. You can also add more jam if it doesn’t taste raspberry-y enough, and if the color doesn’t suit you, you can also add food coloring or icing dye to make it the desired color. I added pink icing dye to mine to make it a more vivid pink.

4) Spread onto the cupcakes using a knife or go the extra mile and pipe it onto the cupcakes! (I used a star tip for mine)

IMG_4897
Yes, this is what I use to decorate cupcakes. Yes, it looks like a giant syringe.

** Jam is different from preserves (but you probably knew that). I assume preserves could work too, though – if you try that, let me know!

*** No matter how good this mixture looks, DO NOT TASTE IT. It’s gross.


Decoration Ideas

You can get creative with your decorations, but here are a few ideas.

IMG_4892

Lemon slices really fit with the lemonade theme, but they can be hard to prop up on the cupcakes unless you’re using a lot of frosting. You could also sprinkle on more lemon zest if you wanted lemon decorations.

Fresh raspberries are an easy decoration to add, and they look great! Just be careful – they’ll go bad after a few days, so if you can, wait until the day of to add them. You can also coat raspberries in sugar, but this is more time consuming, so be prepared!

IMG_4905

In keeping with the cool summer drink theme, plastic straws are another easy way to make the cupcakes look unique! I actually used cake pop sticks for mine, since I thought they were cute, but regular straws work just as well.

IMG_4919

If all else fails, sprinkles are a quick and easy addition to any cupcake. I added white sugar sprinkles to some of mine (mostly so that I could remember which ones had the lemon syrup and which ones didn’t).

IMG_4907


I had my family taste-test the cupcakes, and they enjoyed them! If you’re used to box-made cake, then these will probably feel denser to you, but that’s the way they’re supposed to be, no worries. All in all, these were delicious cupcakes, and I’d love to make them again sometime.

IMG_4909

Do you enjoy baking? Do you think you’ll try these cupcakes? Should I share more baking adventures in the future? Feel free to share your thoughts below!

Until next time!

2 thoughts on “Baking Adventures: Raspberry Lemonade Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

