Blogkeeping: July 2017

Hello everyone! This is just a quick announcement post, because a few things are going to be changing on the site temporarily. Let me explain.

Some of you may recall that last July (and the year before that), I went on a short-term missions trip to West Virginia with an organization known as Christian Endeavor. We spent a week there doing construction work to rebuild and refurbish houses for the community there.

2016-07-08  047 WV Day 6
The house we worked on last year, including the new railing for the steps and front porch.

The summer, I have the privilege of being one of C.E.’s staff interns, which means that starting this Friday (June 23), I’ll be heading out for staff training, then spending two weeks in West Virginia and two weeks in North Carolina. My role on the staff will be mainly to run the office at our “base” in each state, but I’ll also be filling in as needed depending on what tasks need to be completed each day.

Because of the busy schedule and the fact that I’ll be away from home for about five weeks, things are going to be different around here for a while. There won’t be any “Week In Review” posts, and I won’t be able to participate in the Beautiful People linkup for July. The good news is, I still have a post scheduled to go out on Monday each week. I won’t be able to respond to comments as regularly as I do, but I’ll try to stop in when I can and say hello.

I’ll be back home at the beginning of August, so I’ll go back into my regular blogging schedule then. If you’d like to, I’d really appreciate your prayers while I’m away, mostly for safe travels, the staffers (we will be spending five weeks together, after all), and for the groups that’ll be coming to do the work.

Thank you so much for your understanding and encouragement! I’ll be sure to tell you all about how it went when I get back. In the meantime, I hope your July is absolutely spectacular!

Leave a Reply

