Fidget Cube Review

Once upon a time, two brothers had an idea. They turned that idea into one of the most highly successful Kickstarter campaigns of all time. With the support of over 150,000 backers, the Fidget Cube was created.

Fidgeting has become a big craze lately, at least in the U.S. Tangle toys, fidget spinners, and other gadgets suddenly became popular, and I think part of that has to do with the viral success of the original Fidget Cube from Antsy Labs. Of course, people have been fidgeting for forever with keys, pens, and coat zippers, but the concept of something built specifically for fidgeting didn’t cross our minds until recently.

Though I came to the game a bit later, I was one of the Fidget Cube’s backers, and I received my cube a few months ago. It quickly became one of my favorite gadgets to carry with me, and it’s one of the best investments I’ve made. Because of this, I wanted to give it a sort of “review” – not so much determining how good it is, but more to analyze it and the pros/cons of it.

The Fidget Cube, like most cubes, has six sides. Each side has something unique to fidget with, everything from clicking buttons to joystick. They all vary in what they do, so I’ll take a close look at each one.

Clicking Buttons

2017-06-15 007 Fidget Cube

This side features five clicking buttons, but don’t be deceived, they’re not all identical. Two of the corner buttons don’t offer much resistance when pressing them, and they make no noise. In contrast, the two other corner buttons have a higher resistance and make a noticeable click when you push them. The center button is a middle ground between the two. The variations in the buttons are what I think really set the Antsy Labs cube apart from other fidget cubes – the different types are suitable for different situations, and they add another layer of variety.

Gears & Ball

2017-06-15 008 Fidget Cube

The three small gears on this side spin smoothly and don’t make much noise, although if you continually spin them back and forth with your thumb like I do, they’ll be more audible. If you need something silent to roll, the ball on the same side feels a lot like rolling a marble in your fingers, which I like. Pressing it produces a clicking sound similar to the buttons, but it has a slightly different feel to it.

Joystick

2017-06-15 010 Fidget Cube

This joystick is more similar to something on a Nintendo 3DS rather than the type of joystick on traditional gaming controllers. It doesn’t tilt; rather, it glides on the surface of the cube. Although it’s different than I expected, a tilting joystick would disrupt the compact design of the cube, so I can see why the designers opted for a gliding one instead. It doesn’t move quite as smoothly as the one on a 3DS, but I still like it, and it’s withstood my sometimes-aggressive fidgeting, which says something.

Circular Spinner

2017-06-15 006 Fidget Cube

This simple side is my favorite. The regular spinning motion helps me to relax when I get anxious, and it’s such a straightforward side to use that I can do it mindlessly. It was a bit hard to move when I first got my cube, but after using it for a while, it spins very smoothly. It makes a very quiet clicking noise when you use it, but isn’t noticeable.

Switch

2017-06-15 011 Fidget Cube

Definitely the noisiest of the six sides, the switch makes a very loud click when you rock it back and forth, especially when you do it quickly. Using it with less force or rocking it more slowly can remove some of the sound (I like doing it with just my thumb), but it still makes noise. Despite that, it’s great for fidgeting when silence isn’t necessary.

Worry Stone

2017-06-15 009 Fidget Cube

This is probably my least used side. The intention behind it was to provide a smooth surface to rub as a way of alleviated anxiety, similar to the function of a worry stone, but I’ve found that the Spinning side works much better for me in that regard. Even so, it’s a nice addition to the cube.

Protecting the Cube – Prism

Antsy Labs also developed the Prism, a silicone bumper that goes around the edges of the cube to protect it from damage. It also has a removable keychain attachment, which is nice for keeping track of your cube on the go. For me personally, it’s also helped me grip the cube better, as the smooth edges can be slippery sometimes. It fits to the cube nicely, so long as you don’t stretch it out of shape. Plus, it adds another way to customize your cube, which is fun.

*****

All in all, I love my Fidget Cube. It’s come in handy during stressful or boring situations when I’ve needed to fidget, and the variety of sides is great for when I need different things to fidget with. Though fidgeting gadgets have been denounced as useless children’s toys by critics, I think there’s more to it than that. It helps me focus, stay calm, and relax in a way that isn’t distracting to the people around me, which is incredibly useful in my life.

If you’d like your own Fidget Cube, I high recommend buying it from Antsy Labs. Though there are cheaper versions, Antsy Labs is the original creator, and their cube has the highest quality I’ve seen.

I was not paid or reimbursed in any way to review this product. I simply wanted to talk about it because I love talking about it. Please do not ask me to review any products, as that is not what this blog is for.


Do you have your own fidget cube or fidget device? Do you want one? I’d love to hear your thoughts on these gadgets in the comments, so feel free to say hello!

Until next time!

Save

Leave a Reply

